Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Mickey

Thrown ball goes into the stands

Question

Guest Mickey   
Guest Mickey

when a batter hits a grounder to an infielder and the infielder throws the ball into the stands, and the runner does not touch first base, can the runner advance to second without touching first base

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
Richvee    1,724

He can, and he would be called out on proper appeal by the defense.

Once the ball is thrown out of play, the play is over, and the batter/runner may touch touch 1B and then head to 2B without penalty. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
noumpere    2,413
2 hours ago, Richvee said:

He can, and he would be called out on proper appeal by the defense.

Once the ball is thrown out of play, the play is over, and the batter/runner may touch touch 1B and then head to 2B without penalty. 

And, once he advances to and touches second, he cannot (legally) go back and touch first.  Even if he physically does this, he is still subject to being out on appeal.

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Gfoley4    61
21 minutes ago, noumpere said:

And, once he advances to and touches second, he cannot (legally) go back and touch first.  Even if he physically does this, he is still subject to being out on appeal.

tangentially related, there was a recent play in which Justin Upton hit a home run then may or may not have touched first, then touched second and realized that he might have missed first. So he re-touched second then went back and touched first. (Replays later showed that he did barely touch first base the first time by) So, would the second touch be legal? I'd lean towards no based on what you just said regarding a different play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Richvee    1,724

5.09(c)(2) approved ruling:

(B) When the ball is dead, no runner may return to touch
a missed base or one he has left after he has advanced to
and touched a base beyond the missed base.

PLAY—(A) Batter hits ball out of park or ground rule
double and misses first base (ball is dead)—he may
return to first base to correct his mistake before he
touches second but if he touches second he may not
return to first and if defensive team appeals he is declared
out at first.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×