Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Guest jake

does the run count????

Question

Guest jake   
Guest jake

Runners on 1st and 3rd, one out, ball hit to center field in the air runner on 3rd tags properly, runner on 1st doesn't tag goes to second. Runner on 3rd scores b4 the opposing team throws to 1st for third out does the run count?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

6 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1
maven    3,887

Yes. It's an appeal, not a force play, and thus a time play.

I think the site needs a banner with this play on it, which seems to be asked every 3 days.

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
beerguy55    180
3 hours ago, maven said:

Yes. It's an appeal, not a force play, and thus a time play.

I think the site needs a banner with this play on it, which seems to be asked every 3 days.

How about a pinned FAQ post in the Ask the Umpire Section - "The Ten Most Commonly Asked Rule Questions"

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
pnewton    46
8 hours ago, beerguy55 said:

How about a pinned FAQ post in the Ask the Umpire Section - "The Ten Most Commonly Asked Rule Questions"

You assume people would read that post.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
beerguy55    180
On 9/2/2017 at 6:31 PM, pnewton said:

You assume people would read that post.

I assume nothing.   If only one person reads it and doesn't post the question as a result, you're ahead.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
kylehutson    296
On 9/2/2017 at 7:31 PM, pnewton said:

You assume people would read that post.

You assume that's the purpose of a FAQ. It isn't (as you would naively think) for people to read before posting (though that may be an added bonus occasionally). The purpose is so that when somebody asks the question you can respond with (e.g.) http://umpire-empire.com/FAQ/#2 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
udbrky    240
On 9/5/2017 at 9:04 AM, beerguy55 said:

I assume nothing.   If only one person reads it and doesn't post the question as a result, you're ahead.

Nobody reads stickies/FAQ's. Even if it comes up before you can make a post, nobody reads them. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×