Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Guest comishrrl2

Home Plate Collission

Question

Guest comishrrl2   
Guest comishrrl2

Sirs,

The new Major League rules regarding home plate collisions are relatively clear accept in one situation. 

 

The throw comes in from the outfielder and beats the runner. The catcher secures the ball up the line toward 3rd base and is in the umpires discretion directly in the base line. A collision ensues and the ball is not dislodged. The umpire rules the runner out and the defense asks for an ejection of the runner. The umpires meet and discuss and allow the out with no ejection. Is the runner OK to initiate a collision with the catcher if the catcher is in possession of the ball and still chooses to, in effect, "block the path"?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
Rich Ives    956
20 minutes ago, Guest comishrrl2 said:

Sirs,

The new Major League rules regarding home plate collisions are relatively clear accept in one situation. 

 

The throw comes in from the outfielder and beats the runner. The catcher secures the ball up the line toward 3rd base and is in the umpires discretion directly in the base line. A collision ensues and the ball is not dislodged. The umpire rules the runner out and the defense asks for an ejection of the runner. The umpires meet and discuss and allow the out with no ejection. Is the runner OK to initiate a collision with the catcher if the catcher is in possession of the ball and still chooses to, in effect, "block the path"?

Seems clear to me.

6.01)(i)(1) Comment:  If a catcher blocks the pathway of the runner, the
umpire shall not find that the runner initiated an avoidable collision
in violation of this Rule 6.01(i)(1):
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Stk004    599
On 8/30/2017 at 1:15 PM, Rich Ives said:

Seems clear to me.

6.01)(i)(1) Comment:  If a catcher blocks the pathway of the runner, the
umpire shall not find that the runner initiated an avoidable collision
in violation of this Rule 6.01(i)(1):
 

That still doesn't give the runner the right to initiate a collision by lowering his shoulder, throwing a forearm, deviating from his path, etc. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Rich Ives    956
4 hours ago, Stk004 said:

That still doesn't give the runner the right to initiate a collision by lowering his shoulder, throwing a forearm, deviating from his path, etc. 

No one said the runner did that.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Stk004    599
1 minute ago, Rich Ives said:

No one said the runner did that.

 

Our guest asked if it was okay for the runner to initiate a collision, and the answer is no. The criteria for initiating a collision can be found in the rule book. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×