Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
stl_ump

Dropped 3rd strike - Interference?

Recommended Posts

stl_ump    90

OBR

It's probably around somewhere but after some searching I couldn't find it.

Dropped 3rd strike and as the BR starts  running towards first he accidentally kicks the ball.  Interference?

Thanks

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
noumpere    2,413
15 minutes ago, stl_ump said:

Sorry.. should have said OBR.

Here's the specific rule:

Rule 6.01(a )(1) Comment (Rule 7.09 (a ) Comment): If the
pitched ball deflects off the catcher or umpire and subsequently
touches the batter-runner, it is not considered interference
unless, in the judgment of the umpire, the batter-runner
clearly hinders the catcher in his attempt to field the ball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
stl_ump    90
3 minutes ago, noumpere said:

Here's the specific rule:

Rule 6.01(a )(1) Comment (Rule 7.09 (a ) Comment): If the
pitched ball deflects off the catcher or umpire and subsequently
touches the batter-runner, it is not considered interference
unless, in the judgment of the umpire, the batter-runner
clearly hinders the catcher in his attempt to field the ball.

So even though it was unintentional, if he kicks the ball out of the catchers reach (clearly hinders the catcher) then it would be interference.

Thanks

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Senor Azul    156

Official Interpretation:  Wendelstedt:  “When the batter-runner contacts an uncaught third strike, or hinders the catcher in his attempt to field the ball, the umpire will wait to see whether it has an interfering effect on the play. If the play is clearly interfered with, the umpire will call and signal interference and then call time. He will call out the batter-runner and return all other runners to their original bases.” (2016 BRD, section 291, p. 191)

Official Interpretation:  Wendelstedt:  (1) If the ball is barely affected, there may be no interference; however, if the ball is knocked a considerable distance away, interference is likely. (2) It no longer makes any difference whether the interference was avoidable. All that matters is whether interference CLEARLY occurred. (3) There is no “both-players-doing-their-job” exception as with batted balls out in front of the plate. (2016 BRD, section 291, p. 191)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×