Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Parent

Balk question

Question

Guest Parent   
Guest Parent

Playing MLB rules, left handed pitcher on mound runner on 1st base. Pitcher comes set looking at runner. Runner takes off for 2nd base, pitcher does not step off back of rubber, steps to 1st base but does not throw the ball to 1st. He runs towards the runner and throws him out at 2nd base. This is a balk, correct? It doesn't matter whether the pitcher is right or left handed? For that play to be a legal out the pitcher would have to step off the back of rubber to make himself a fielder at that time?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
maven    3,887
19 minutes ago, Guest Parent said:

For that play to be a legal out the pitcher would have to step off the back of rubber to make himself a fielder at that time?

This part depends on what precisely you mean by "that play." If you mean F1 chasing the runner with the ball, then there are a couple legal ways for him to do that: he could disengage and then chase, or he could step to 2B, feint a throw to 2B, then chase.

Once he steps toward 1B, by rule he must throw there. That, too, would make "that play" (in a different sense) legal.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×