Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
stkjock

Triple Play in Phillies/Cubs Game

Question

11 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
noumpere    2,413
17 minutes ago, stkjock said:

Wonder how many saw this play?

 

If you include both "live" (in person and on TV) and replay, I'd say many millions.  You're welcome.

(I agree with the call.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
maven    3,887

Catch + 2 properly granted appeals = triple play. Correct calls.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
stkjock    272
1 hour ago, noumpere said:

If you include both "live" (in person and on TV) and replay, I'd say many millions.  You're welcome.

(I agree with the call.)

thanks wise guy.. :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Guest Den.   
Guest Den.

J+R pg.26 D.(b)

"It is a catch if a fielder ... has complete control ... a fielder shows complete control by ... showing that his release of the ball is (or will be) voluntary and intentional".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Jimurray    544
37 minutes ago, siz said:

Is it still a catch when he didn't transfer it cleanly?  

 

They backed off the "meathook" interp a year or few ago. I think they actually did it mid season.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Senor Azul    156

From the 2015 MLBUM (paragraph 65, p. 80):

The umpire should find that a legal catch has occurred pursuant to Definitions of Terms, “Catch,” or valid force out or tag has occurred pursuant to Definitions of Terms, “Tag,” if the fielder had complete control over the ball in his glove, and drops the ball after intentionally opening his glove to make the transfer to his throwing hand. A legal catch does not require that the fielder secure possession or control of the ball in his throwing hand when making the transfer.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Senor Azul    156

I forgot to add that Mr. Jimurray was right about the rule change. MLB changed the definition of catch a few weeks into the 2014 season. The new rule took effect the night of April 25, 2014.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
beerguy55    180
18 hours ago, stkjock said:

So my thought upon first viewing was that can that be considered a voluntary release. 

It's very close IMO.  He comes up with the ball in glove...then he adjusts the glove (opens and closes it) to get the ball more securely in the pocket...then immediately after that he drops it on the attempt to transfer to his throwing hand.  I could understand it if an umpire ruled that he actually dropped the ball in the act of opening and closing the glove to secure it, but I believe he  did complete that act of securing the ball before dropping it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×