Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Bill mossa

Bases Awarded

Question

Guest Bill mossa   
Guest Bill mossa

A pitcher threw a wild pitch that went off the catcher and rolled into the dugout. The runner at first was awarded 1 base no 2 as would be the case if a fielder threw a ball out of play. Was one one base awarded because it was a pitched ball and not a fielded ball ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
Richvee    1,724

Yes. You are correct. A pitched ball that goes into DBT is a one base award. As would be a throw to a base from the rubber that goes out of play. Not to be confused with a pitcher who steps off the rubber, and then throws out of play..That's two bases because once the pitcher steps off the rubber he's considered an infielder. From the rubber, it's one base. .

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Senor Azul    156

And here’s the applicable Official Baseball Rule:

OBR 5.06(b)(3) (7.04) Each runner, other than the batter, may without liability to be put out, advance one base when:

(H) One base, if a ball, pitched to the batter, or thrown by the pitcher from his position on the pitcher’s plate to a base to catch a runner, goes into a stand or a bench, or over or through a field fence or backstop. The ball is dead;

APPROVED RULING: When a wild pitch or passed ball goes through or by the catcher, or deflects off the catcher, and goes directly into the dugout, stands, above the break, or any area where the ball is dead, the awarding of bases shall be one base. One base shall also be awarded if the pitcher while in contact with the rubber, throws to a base, and the throw goes directly into the stands or into any area where the ball is dead. If, however, the pitched or thrown ball goes through or by the catcher or through the fielder, and remains on the playing field, and is subsequently kicked or deflected into the dugout, stands or other area where the ball is dead, the awarding of bases shall be two bases from position of runners at the time of the pitch or throw.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
noumpere    2,413
14 hours ago, Senor Azul said:

And here’s the applicable Official Baseball Rule:

OBR 5.06(b)(3) (7.04) Each runner, other than the batter, may without liability to be put out, advance one base when:

(H) One base, if a ball, pitched to the batter, or thrown by the pitcher from his position on the pitcher’s plate to a base to catch a runner, goes into a stand or a bench, or over or through a field fence or backstop. The ball is dead;

APPROVED RULING: When a wild pitch or passed ball goes through or by the catcher, or deflects off the catcher, and goes directly into the dugout, stands, above the break, or any area where the ball is dead, the awarding of bases shall be one base. One base shall also be awarded if the pitcher while in contact with the rubber, throws to a base, and the throw goes directly into the stands or into any area where the ball is dead. If, however, the pitched or thrown ball goes through or by the catcher or through the fielder, and remains on the playing field, and is subsequently kicked or deflected into the dugout, stands or other area where the ball is dead, the awarding of bases shall be two bases from position of runners at the time of the pitch or throw.

All codes award one base if the pitch directly goes out of play (the part in black above).

 

NCAA and FED have slightly different rules if the ball is subsequently deflected out of play (the part in red above) -- just in case you see this at your local HS, for example.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×