Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Guest joe

new umpire

Question

Guest joe   
Guest joe

Infield fly situation

Ball is batted--fly ball in infield--3 players are running towards the ball to try and catch it but neither one is calling anyone off to try and catch the ball. all 3 run in to each other and the ball drops to the ground--is it an infield fly

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
ALStripes17    556
Infield fly situation
Ball is batted--fly ball in infield--3 players are running towards the ball to try and catch it but neither one is calling anyone off to try and catch the ball. all 3 run in to each other and the ball drops to the ground--is it an infield fly
If, in the umpires' judgement, the fly ball could have been caught by an infielder with ordinary effort, then it should be deemed an infield fly. Nothing in the rule book prescribes judging communications between fielders or their ensuing 3-stooges antics.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
noumpere    2,413

I agree with ALStripes, but if the infielders were all  "running towards the ball" it's possible that either this wasn't really high enough to be an infield fly and / or that it wasn't ordinary effort.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
ElkOil    695
On 8/25/2017 at 6:54 PM, Guest joe said:

Infield fly situation

Ball is batted--fly ball in infield--3 players are running towards the ball to try and catch it but neither one is calling anyone off to try and catch the ball. all 3 run in to each other and the ball drops to the ground--is it an infield fly

Did the umpire indicate it was, or is there a question about how the call was handled?

To the technical aspects of the situation, it's an infield fly if the following criteria are met:

1. Less than two out.

2. Force play in effect at 3B ( so bases loaded or runners on 1B and 2B).

3. Fly ball is hit (as @noumpere said, it has to be high enough in the umpire's judgement). No infield fly is in effect on a bunted ball.

4. An infielder must be able to catch it using ordinary effort. Note that this does not mean it has to be caught by an infielder nor does it mean that the ball is over the infield.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
beerguy55    180

To add one more thing - by the time said fly ball lands and the three fielders collide into each other the IFF should have already been called (if the umpire judged it to be one).

Typically, the IFF is judged and called around the time the fly ball reaches its apex - the umpire isn't supposed to wait to see what happens as the ball comes down before calling it.

In judging, the umpire is only required to determine if the ball can be caught with "ordinary" effort....not "will", not "shall" and certainly not "must".

In hindsight, if three infielders were able to all get to the ball in time to run into each other it is probably reasonable to conclude that one of them could have caught it with ordinary effort.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×