Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Guest Gary King

BB Fan

Question

Home team is at bat with 2 outs, runners on 1st and 2nd and is down by one run in the bottom of the 9th.

Hitter lines a ball to right field, both runners scored (walk off win for home team!). However, the visitor 3rd baseman and the umpire see that the lead runner missed stepping on 3rd base as he rounded the base heading for home. The visiting team remains on the field and when the pitcher makes the appeal at 3rd, the runner is called OUT!

As the lead runner is called out, the 3rd out of the inning, does the 2nd run count? What's the score? Or is the game over and the visitors win?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

  • 1

R2 (lead runner, as you called it) committed the base running infraction. Since that is the 3rd out, neither his run nor the following run scores, and the inning – and game – is over.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
7 hours ago, MadMax said:

R2 (lead runner, as you called it) committed the base running infraction. Since that is the 3rd out, neither his run nor the following run scores, and the inning – and game – is over.

Agree. Same ruling all codes.

Lock it up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0