Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Guest John

Mr

Question

Guest John   
Guest John

Fly ball to outfielder who makes catch but as he's falling,  the ball partially goes through webbing of glove, and the ball touches the ground.  Is it still a catch?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

13 answers to this question

Recommended Posts


Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
UMP45    299
24 minutes ago, BrianC14 said:

No catch. He needs to demonstrate control / possession of the ball and then voluntary release.  

BrainC14 I think he is talking about a ball that is sticking half way through the webbing of his glove. I still have no catch. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
BrianC14    422
10 minutes ago, UMP45 said:

BrainC14 I think he is talking about a ball that is sticking half way through the webbing of his glove. I still have no catch. 

I read that as "through the webbing of the glove" being all the way through and then the ball hit the ground.   

If it were stuck in the webbing and he was able to pull it out, then I'd have a catch.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
maven    3,880

If the ball is still held securely in the glove, I have a catch.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Richvee    1,724

I'm picturing a ball half way through a glove's webbing, stuck in the pocket, fielder and glove laying on the ground. (glove still on his hand, of course) If he lifts the glove off the ground and the ball's still in there, I have a catch.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
noumpere    2,412

There's nothing that sys that if the ball "partially hits the ground it's no catch."

 

A "sno-cone" is the usual example.

 

I have a catch,

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Kevin_K    523

In FED is this a catch or a ball lodged in a player's equipment?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
ElkOil    694
3 minutes ago, Kevin_K said:

In FED is this a catch or a ball lodged in a player's equipment?

Do you mean to ask if a ball held in a fielder's glove would be something besides a catch and instead be considered lodged in his equipment?

If so, it's a catch. A ball lodged in a uniform or touched by detached player equipment is something else entirely. For example, if the player threw his glove at the ball or if a batted ball ran into his jersey and became stuck, then you'd have a lodged ball scenario.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Kevin_K    523

I am asking about FED rule 

5.1 . Ball becomes dead immediately when:

f. a fair batted ball:

1. touches a runner or an umpire before touching any fielder and before passing any fielder other than the pitcher,

2. touches a runner after passing through or by an infielder and another infielder could have made a play on the ball,

3. touches a spectator,

4. goes over or through or wedges in the field fence, or

5. lodges in players equipment or uniform; or

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
maven    3,880
1 hour ago, Kevin_K said:

In FED is this a catch or a ball lodged in a player's equipment?

What is the purpose of the lodged ball rule?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
ALStripes17    556
I am asking about FED rule 

5.1 . Ball becomes dead immediately when:

f. a fair batted ball:

1. touches a runner or an umpire before touching any fielder and before passing any fielder other than the pitcher,

2. touches a runner after passing through or by an infielder and another infielder could have made a play on the ball,

3. touches a spectator,

4. goes over or through or wedges in the field fence, or

5. lodges in players equipment or uniform; or

There's a case play that distinguishes between lodged and 'temporarily stuck'. A fielder is allowed to attempt to remove the ball from his glove without penalty. The moment he takes the glove off with ball 'stuck', then it is considered lodged

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Senor Azul    154

From the 2015 NFHS Baseball Case Book:

5.1.1 SITUATION S:  With a runner on first base, on a bounding ball F6 lays out and catches the ball in his glove. After several attempts to remove the ball from his glove, he is finally successful after the batter-runner acquires first base. RULING:  There is no base awarded; the play stands. The ball was temporarily stuck, not lodged, in F6’s glove.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×