Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Guest bbbill

Rawling's NC HC

Question

I was told a Pitcher could DH for himself. I.E. pitch and then come out as a pitcher and still DH for next pitcher?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

15 answers to this question

  • 0

In college ball, that is correct. There is no such arrangement for high school, although I think a couple of states have adopted the college rule. There is no such provision in pro ball

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0

And, it takes some getting used to, as an umpire, when recording changes as the game goes on.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, catsbackr said:

And, it takes some getting used to, as an umpire, when recording changes as the game goes on.

I've been prepared after studying this: http://www.northbaydbms.net/nbpo/SimplifyingtheCollegeDHRule.pdf edited, sorry link no good anymore

But I haven't seen a coach yet that doesn't keep it simple. Have you seen a coach employ the ability to go back and forth between 9 and 10?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
7 minutes ago, Jimurray said:

I've been prepared after studying this: http://www.northbaydbms.net/nbpo/SimplifyingtheCollegeDHRule.pdf

But I haven't seen a coach yet that doesn't keep it simple. Have you seen a coach employ the ability to go back and forth between 9 and 10?

I have -- once or twice a year in college.  I've also had them try this (I hope this is right -- it's from memory, and I haven't read the NCAA DH rule in a couple of years):

  • P/DH.
  • Removed as P (new pitcher enters), stay as DH
  • Enter to play F3, as F3 moves to pitch. (Batting order stays the same).

 

That last step is not allowed.  The could have done it if the second step was not in between.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
14 minutes ago, Jimurray said:

I've been prepared after studying this: http://www.northbaydbms.net/nbpo/SimplifyingtheCollegeDHRule.pdf

But I haven't seen a coach yet that doesn't keep it simple. Have you seen a coach employ the ability to go back and forth between 9 and 10?

Jim,

 

Maybe once a year.  Most coaches, in my experience, do not really understand the college DH rules at all, or how to use the rules to their advantage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
33 minutes ago, noumpere said:

I have -- once or twice a year in college.  I've also had them try this (I hope this is right -- it's from memory, and I haven't read the NCAA DH rule in a couple of years):

  • P/DH.
  • Removed as P (new pitcher enters), stay as DH
  • Enter to play F3, as F3 moves to pitch. (Batting order stays the same).

 

That last step is not allowed.  The could have done it if the second step was not in between.

Not allowed, or does step three the one that ends the role of DH?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, BrianC14 said:

Not allowed, or does step three the one that ends the role of DH?

Not allowed.

If the steps were 1, 3 then it would be allowed, but the DH would end.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 8/2/2017 at 11:10 AM, catsbackr said:

And, it takes some getting used to, as an umpire, when recording changes as the game goes on.

This one shouldn't be too hard though. Just list the P/DH twice. In the batting order, list the player as a DH.

 

Then at the bottom, list him as P. Switch as needed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 8/2/2017 at 2:14 PM, noumpere said:

Not allowed.

If the steps were 1, 3 then it would be allowed, but the DH would end.

Wouldn't that just mean that the new pitcher (the reliever) is out of the game for good? Now you have 9 players and 9 spots in the order. Or is there a provision that it can't happen? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, TheRockawayKid said:

Wouldn't that just mean that the new pitcher (the reliever) is out of the game for good? Now you have 9 players and 9 spots in the order. Or is there a provision that it can't happen? 

7-2-e. Nine-player lineup—DH is the pitcher
1) If the P/DH is replaced defensively as the pitcher:
        a) When replaced as the pitcher, the P/DH may:
            (1) Remain as the DH and bat only in the DH spot. If remaining as
                  the DH, the individual or subsequent DH, cannot enter the game
                  in any other capacity (e.g., as the pitcher, defensive player or pinch
                  runner).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
11 minutes ago, Jimurray said:

7-2-e. Nine-player lineup—DH is the pitcher
1) If the P/DH is replaced defensively as the pitcher:
        a) When replaced as the pitcher, the P/DH may:
            (1) Remain as the DH and bat only in the DH spot. If remaining as
                  the DH, the individual or subsequent DH, cannot enter the game
                  in any other capacity (e.g., as the pitcher, defensive player or pinch
                  runner).

OK. Thank you. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Yes in Florida High School baseball.

 

FHSAA allows for the PDH, He can pitch and DH, but that is it, no other defensive position can be played by the PDH same as college.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
3 hours ago, ScubaUmp said:

FHSAA allows for the PDH, He can pitch and DH, but that is it, no other defensive position can be played by the PDH same as college.

I'm a little confused by that -- not for FL (I'll assume you are right), but for NCAA -- the PDH CAN play another defensive position, as long as the change is made correctly.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, noumpere said:

I'm a little confused by that -- not for FL (I'll assume you are right), but for NCAA -- the PDH CAN play another defensive position, as long as the change is made correctly.

From their rule: 

"Please 
note
–
This
 is
 not 
the
 NCAA
 designated
 hitter
 rule.


 "

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   You have pasted content with formatting.   Remove formatting

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0