Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Guest Cramer Lynne

Ms

Question

Runner on third, before and during pitch, wanders onto the grass 5-6 ft off the dirt base path. Base coach also wandering around. Within the rules?? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

9 answers to this question


Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
3 hours ago, Guest Cramer Lynne said:

Runner on third, before and during pitch, wanders onto the grass 5-6 ft off the dirt base path. Base coach also wandering around. Within the rules?? 

This is an excellent instance of a question deserving this response –

Cramer, why wouldn't this activity be within the rules?

Or, what leads you to believe this activity is outside the rules?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 7/15/2017 at 6:19 PM, Guest Cramer Lynne said:

Runner on third, before and during pitch, wanders onto the grass 5-6 ft off the dirt base path. Base coach also wandering around. Within the rules?? 

Assuming it's not Little League or softball where lead off rules apply I'm not sure what your concern is about the base runner.  He makes his own base path, and that includes his lead off.  Foul territory is exactly where you want him.   The further off the base path, the less likely he gets hit by the ball.

Coach is supposed to be in his box during the pitch, though I've rarely seen anything strictly enforced unless he's doing something ridiculous.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

The point of the OP's question, if I understand it correctly, is whether the coach is acting "in any manner to draw a throw by a fielder."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
2 hours ago, roothog66 said:

Reminds me of an old 1&3 play where I'd have my R1 lead off about 30 feet or more into right field.

The skunk in the outfield huh?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
2 hours ago, LRZ said:

The point of the OP's question, if I understand it correctly, is whether the coach is acting "in any manner to draw a throw by a fielder."

I think it's about out of baseline out of box.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   You have pasted content with formatting.   Remove formatting

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0