Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Guest Ingest

Runner already out interference

Question

Runner on 3rd, less than 2 outs. Batter hits fly ball to left and is put out. Batter-runner isn't really paying attention and jogs back to his 3rd base dugout over the field of play after the catch and is hit by throw from left fielder attempting to throw out runner tagging from 3rd.  What rule covers that?  I see rules referring to it needing to be "intentional" for it to be interference.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

  • 0

(7.09) Batter or Runner Interference

It is interference by a batter or a runner when:

 (5) Any batter or runner who has just been put out, or any runner who has just scored, hinders or impedes any following play being made on a runner. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of his teammate (see Rule 6.01(j));

 

For a retired runner, intent is not required.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
38 minutes ago, beerguy55 said:

(7.09) Batter or Runner Interference

It is interference by a batter or a runner when:

 (5) Any batter or runner who has just been put out, or any runner who has just scored, hinders or impedes any following play being made on a runner. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of his teammate (see Rule 6.01(j));

 

For a retired runner, intent is not required.

Intent is not required once they abandon normal baserunning. If they are running the bases normally intent would be required. In the MLB play if the batter was running out his fly ball he would not be guilty of INT if hit. He had abandoned baserunning so no intent was required.  WUM eg: BR hits foul fly just past 1B. As he overruns 1B a following throw to put out a tagging R3 hits the BR. Not interference.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   You have pasted content with formatting.   Remove formatting

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0