Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Guest Kevin

Squat9

Question

Runners on first and third one out.  Batter bunts the ball.  Pitcher is slow to field the bunt and batter is a jack rabbit.   Runner on third does not move (at first), runner on first runs to second.  Pitcher fields ball and realizes she has no chance to throw runner out at first.  Runner at third breaks late for home and is thown out at home.  Is it a hit for the batter?  She did reach first before the runner was tagged out at home.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question


Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0

FC; and R3 gets 80 push ups, and has to buy the batter a lollipop for taking away a hit.

 

(b) The official scorer shall not credit a base hit when a:

 (3) pitcher, the catcher or any infielder handles a batted ball and puts out a preceding runner who is attempting to advance one base or to return to his original base, or would have put out such runner with ordinary effort except for a fielding error. The official scorer shall charge the batter with a time at bat but no hit;

 

If R3 had been safe it would be a hit if the score keeper judged the batter would have reached anyway.

 

(a) The official scorer shall credit a batter with a base hit when:

 (6) a fielder unsuccessfully attempts to put out a preceding runner and, in the official scorer’s judgment, the batter-runner would not have been put out at first base by ordinary effort.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   You have pasted content with formatting.   Remove formatting

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0