Register or Sign In to remove these ads
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
FleasOf1000Camels

F2 carries ball to DBT

13 posts in this topic

Strange play, what do you think?

OBR, 1 out, R2.  Batter singles to RC.   R2 trying to score, takes a VERY wide turn past 3rd, slips on wet grass and slides straight through the dugout gate.  F2, now with ball in hand, follows R2 in to the dugout and tags him while he's trying to get up from the tangled pile of bats and helmets.  Everybody, including me, is having a good laugh at the whole situation.  I don't believe I actually made an OUT call or signal.

Now I see the batter/runner standing on 2nd and call TIME.    I see nobody is hurt, and am thinking the play is all done.  But wait, OC approaches and asks "since the catcher carried the ball in to DBT, how many bases does my runner get?"  For what it's worth, I can't honestly say where BR was when F2 (and the ball) left the field...but my instinct says he had not yet reached 2nd.  Talked it over with partner, and we sent BR to 3rd.  Nobody had any complaints about it.  Just wondering what some of you guys think.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads

I agree. Strange play.  Given the info provided, I would agree with your placement result if you are convinced that he did acquire 1B.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

can't help with the call, however, raised a few thoughts for this novice:

 

once the ball goes into DBT - can an out be recorded? the ball is immediately dead and time is called as I understand it.

 

if the ball is carried to DBT - and the runner has not be retired, should he be award home?  I know it sounds a bit ridiculous in this situation.

 

 

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, stkjock said:

can't help with the call, however, raised a few thoughts for this novice:

 

once the ball goes into DBT - can an out be recorded? the ball is immediately dead and time is called as I understand it.

 

if the ball is carried to DBT - and the runner has not be retired, should he be award home?  I know it sounds a bit ridiculous in this situation.

 

 

I was just thinking those same questions...

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, the lead runner was out when he left the field and entered DBT, so he's definitely not scoring.  An aggressive and repeated signal is appropriate, and may have prevented the catcher from taking the ball off the field to tag him, which could have saved you the rest of the circus.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, CJK said:

Well, the lead runner was out when he left the field and entered DBT, so he's definitely not scoring.  An aggressive and repeated signal is appropriate, and may have prevented the catcher from taking the ball off the field to tag him, which could have saved you the rest of the circus.

is that by interp?  I ask because before I posted my questions, I looked at OBR and what I could find in FED online for what the call is when a runner goes into DBT and found nothing, not saying it't not there, just couldn't find it myself.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, stkjock said:

is that by interp?  I ask because before I posted my questions, I looked at OBR and what I could find in FED online for what the call is when a runner goes into DBT and found nothing, not saying it't not there, just couldn't find it myself.

801(c).  And, if the field is that wet / slippery, the game should be postponed / suspended.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, noumpere said:

801(c).  And, if the field is that wet / slippery, the game should be postponed / suspended.

8.01(c)? new OBR? Those rules apply to the umpire it seems

 

Quote

8.01 Umpire Qualifications and Authority 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, stkjock said:

8.01(c)? new OBR? Those rules apply to the umpire it seems

(c) Each umpire has authority to rule on any point not specifically
covered in these rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, noumpere said:

(c) Each umpire has authority to rule on any point not specifically
covered in these rules.

When a runner is out IS in the rules.  Can't use this, 

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, FleasOf1000Camels said:

Strange play, what do you think?

OBR, 1 out, R2.  Batter singles to RC.   R2 trying to score, takes a VERY wide turn past 3rd, slips on wet grass and slides straight through the dugout gate.  F2, now with ball in hand, follows R2 in to the dugout and tags him while he's trying to get up from the tangled pile of bats and helmets.  Everybody, including me, is having a good laugh at the whole situation.  I don't believe I actually made an OUT call or signal.

Now I see the batter/runner standing on 2nd and call TIME.    I see nobody is hurt, and am thinking the play is all done.  But wait, OC approaches and asks "since the catcher carried the ball in to DBT, how many bases does my runner get?"  For what it's worth, I can't honestly say where BR was when F2 (and the ball) left the field...but my instinct says he had not yet reached 2nd.  Talked it over with partner, and we sent BR to 3rd.  Nobody had any complaints about it.  Just wondering what some of you guys think.

What was your call regarding the runner in the dugout?

I can't find anything in my initial search about runners going into DBT, so given my understanding of the rules, I'd award the runner in the dugout home and the other runner 3B. It seems strange that a runner leaving the field of play unintentionally isn't covered, but I wouldn't want to call him out for abandonment, since he didn't abandon anything -- since due to circumstances beyond his control, he left LBT.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 hours ago, Rich Ives said:

When a runner is out IS in the rules.  Can't use this, 

I didn't say the runner was out -- I said a runner unintentionally entering DBT is not covered.  If someone wants to use the "if it's not disallowed, it's allowed" structure that we often do, that's fine.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0