Register or Sign In to remove these ads
Gil

NCAA CWS - Force Play Slide Rule Negates LSU Run

7 posts in this topic

2B Umpire Steve Mattingly's interference double play call negated an LSU run during the NCAA College World Series' decisive game Tuesday night, as Mattingly ruled LSU baserunner Jake Slaughter—and his teammate, batter Michael Papierski—out on a violation of college's force play slide rule...

[[ This is a content summary only. Visit my website for full links, other content, and more! ]]

View the full article

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads

Great write up Gil!   Watching live, and in regular speed, I saw it and knew it was coming! :D 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

One question, since the BR was out at first, how can there be interference.  Totally agree that the slide was illegal.  No problem with penalizing the offense.  But, similar to batter/umpire interference, if the catcher records the out, we ignore the interference. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, sthomas13100 said:

One question, since the BR was out at first, how can there be interference.  Totally agree that the slide was illegal.  No problem with penalizing the offense.  But, similar to batter/umpire interference, if the catcher records the out, we ignore the interference. 

The rule states "the batter-runner, as well as the interfering runner, shall be declared out and no other runner(s) shall advance"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
26 minutes ago, sthomas13100 said:

One question, since the BR was out at first, how can there be interference.  Totally agree that the slide was illegal.  No problem with penalizing the offense.  But, similar to batter/umpire interference, if the catcher records the out, we ignore the interference. 

It's not a delayed dead ball.  The FPSR violation occurs at the time of the infraction and time is called right away. What happens after that doesn't matter. 

2 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, sthomas13100 said:

One question, since the BR was out at first, how can there be interference.  Totally agree that the slide was illegal.  No problem with penalizing the offense.  But, similar to batter/umpire interference, if the catcher records the out, we ignore the interference. 

First: that's not the penalty by rule.

More important: your method won't put other runners back. With INT/FPSR, other runners return to their TOI/TOP bases (depending on the rule, code, etc.).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now