Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
sth1d

Runner throwing an elbow after being forced out

Question

Runners on 1st and 2nd, ground ball to SS who throws to 3B for the FC force put. R2 throws an elbow at F5 as he comes in to 3B as if trying to knock the ball out, but only succeeds in hurting F5 who was still able to hang on to the ball. F5 had stepped sideways off the base and out of the path of the runner just before the runner got there.

 

Obviously the runner was already out even if the ball is knocked loose, but would there be grounds to further penalize the batting team?

 

I assume this should not be a consideration, but the runner is known to be a dirty player that likes to skate on the knife edge of breaking the rules.

 

I recall a similar instance of this happening at 1B in the MLB but ARod was called out after successfully knocking the ball lose.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7 answers to this question

  • 1
6 minutes ago, johnnyg08 said:

Yep, definitely ground for an ejection. 

If the umpire doesn't take care of it, at certain levels of baseball, expect a pitch between the shoulder blades or ribs the next time he comes up. 

Yes, or worse... that the offender reaches base on a hit, and a DT fielder decides to take him down a peg with an elbow or other cheap shot, and now we have benches emptying.

This is game management 101.   "See a problem, fix a problem."   Bye bye, have a seat.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0

The Arod situation was way different.  He swatted the fielder's glove to knock the ball loose.

In your OP, R2 could  (and should) be ejected.  What a jack wagon. 

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

You don't (further) penalize the team; instead, you penalize the transgressor with an Ejection for malicious contact (MC). This should be the case for all amateur baseball (college included).

If the Ejection brings the playable lineup to 8, it may mean forfeiture of the game. But there aren't any other penalties – outs or otherwise – to impose. You may have to... advise or remind the coach(es) that any retaliations will not be tolerated.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Why would this be different from calling interference at second on a force play and calling the BR out as well? Unless R2 was the third out, I'd be inclined to call interference and grab another out - or two. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I am going to take a stab at this one.

Perhaps you could get the double play on an interference call.  it certainly prevented a double play.

That does not negate the fact that MC occurred which demands an ejection.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

If retired R2 impeded a following play on R1 or BR then you can also call the second out....6-5-3 DP would not be out of the question here.

And, yes, eject the little SH*#.

And, yes, your reputation follows you...if you are known as a dirty player then even when you do something accidentally people are going to assume it was intentional, and you're certainly not going to get any benefit of the doubt.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Yep, definitely ground for an ejection. 

If the umpire doesn't take care of it, at certain levels of baseball, expect a pitch between the shoulder blades or ribs the next time he comes up. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   You have pasted content with formatting.   Remove formatting

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0