Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Guest Guest Mike

Ball hit umpire while on the field

Question

I was walking my dog by the ball field the other and started watching a youth game and saw a play and did not understand,could you explain it to me please.There was a runner on first base and the batter hit a ball that took a crazy bounce and hit the umpire.I thought they said the batter was out and they sent the runner back to first base,is that correct?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

8 answers to this question

  • 0
15 minutes ago, Guest Guest Mike said:

I was walking my dog by the ball field the other and started watching a youth game and saw a play and did not understand,could you explain it to me please.There was a runner on first base and the batter hit a ball that took a crazy bounce and hit the umpire.I thought they said the batter was out and they sent the runner back to first base,is that correct?

I am not sure why they did that. If it hit the umpire before it got to a fielder, then the batter gets 1B, and all runners advance if forced. If it hits him after going by fielders, it is a live ball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
1 hour ago, Guest Guest Mike said:

I was walking my dog by the ball field the other and started watching a youth game and saw a play and did not understand,could you explain it to me please.There was a runner on first base and the batter hit a ball that took a crazy bounce and hit the umpire.I thought they said the batter was out and they sent the runner back to first base,is that correct?

 

1 hour ago, maineump said:

I am not sure why they did that. If it hit the umpire before it got to a fielder, then the batter gets 1B, and all runners advance if forced. If it hits him after going by fielders, it is a live ball.

My guess is, that the highlighted part explains it (making some assumptions about the experience of the umpire).  Not that it makes it right.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I think that sometimes in rules interpretation clinics or sessions, we focus on the rule and under emphasize the application/penalty. 

The developing umpires probably called umpire interference correctly, but didn't know what to do afterwards. 

2 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
17 hours ago, maineump said:

I am not sure why they did that. If it hit the umpire before it got to a fielder, then the batter gets 1B, and all runners advance if forced. If it hits him after going by fielders, it is a live ball.

Well, if I was an umpire and you hit a line drive at me, I'd be pretty pissed.  :)

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 6/14/2017 at 5:08 PM, maineump said:

I am not sure why they did that. If it hit the umpire before it got to a fielder, then the batter gets 1B, and all runners advance if forced. If it hits him after going by fielders, it is a live ball.

I was thinking this only applied when it was a batted ball in the air. Is it on the ground as well?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I've seen too many umpires use 90-foot mechanics on a 60-foot field. I suggested to one that he move outside the baselines, he told me he'd been doing this a long time and he's never been hit. 2 batters later, he took a hard-hit one hopper to the thigh. He moved outside the baseline after that. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
12 minutes ago, Panther32 said:

I was thinking this only applied when it was a batted ball in the air. Is it on the ground as well?

You are not trolling, are you?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   You have pasted content with formatting.   Remove formatting

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor