Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest bob

obstruction question

Question

12 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
stkjock    272

He can, however, he runs the risk of being called for interference. 

 

If all all he does his obstruct the fielders view, it's not likely to be called, if he makes contact with a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball, it's nearly certain to be called. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
White47    52

Defiantly. Watch an MLB game, you'll see it if its hit in between first and second with a runner on first or in an runner on second with two out hit in between second and third.
Just make sure no contact with fielder or ball, and make sure the only hindrance is sight.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
noumpere    2,412

If the runner slows down to let the ball go in front of him -- likely legal.

If the runner stops, then jumps up at the last minute to let the ball go underneath him -- likely INT

If the runner jockeys back and forth, then darts out of the way at the last minute, likely INT.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
White47    52
If the runner slows down to let the ball go in front of him -- likely legal.

If the runner stops, then jumps up at the last minute to let the ball go underneath him -- likely INT

If the runner jockeys back and forth, then darts out of the way at the last minute, likely INT.

 

Whats your reasoning. Not saying your wrong, I've just not seen it called that way.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
noumpere    2,412
3 minutes ago, White47 said:

Whats your reasoning. Not saying your wrong, I've just not seen it called that way.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The first is running the bases normally -- and avoiding being hit by the batted ball.

 

The others are not -- so give the runner what he want.s

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
White47    52
The first is running the bases normally -- and avoiding being hit by the batted ball.

 

The others are not -- so give the runner what he want.s

Without a case play or interp I'll have to respectful disagree manly on the fact that I haven't ever seen it called that way at any level even MLB.

But if it hit him or he does anything to interfer beside visual impairment I've got him out.

I could be wrong, just needed to be proven before I change my mind.

 

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Matt    1,194
31 minutes ago, White47 said:

Without a case play or interp I'll have to respectful disagree manly on the fact that I haven't ever seen it called that way at any level even MLB.

But if it hit him or he does anything to interfer beside visual impairment I've got him out.

I could be wrong, just needed to be proven before I change my mind.

 

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

You should watch more baseball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
White47    52
You should watch more baseball.

Like I said very well could be wrong, but I call HS and college and have never see it called. It very well could be in rule book , just something I have never investigated.

 

I hope this is true bc I called INT this year in a HS game, I really thought the ball yet him and came up with int, later after asking partner in defiantly didn't. It just took a weird bounce off the edge of grass and dirt. That would make me feel better about that call.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
maven    3,880
49 minutes ago, White47 said:

Without a case play or interp I'll have to respectful disagree manly on the fact that I haven't ever seen it called that way at any level even MLB.

But if it hit him or he does anything to interfer beside visual impairment I've got him out.

Why would you need a case play? This is black-letter rule: "Any runner is out when...he hinders a fielder on his initial attempt to field a batted ball." That's FED 8-4-2g, but all codes are the same: fielders have absolute right-of-way when fielding a batted ball.

When a runner tries and succeeds to hinder a protected fielder, that's an easy INT call. And intent isn't even required (though hindrance is).

What rule can you cite that excludes "visual impairment" from a fielder's protection?

And what manual or clinic teaches, "only call what you've personally seen called?"

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
White47    52
Why would you need a case play? This is black-letter rule: "Any runner is out when...he hinders a fielder on his initial attempt to field a batted ball." That's FED 8-4-2g, but all codes are the same: fielders have absolute right-of-way when fielding a batted ball. When a runner tries and succeeds to hinder a protected fielder, that's an easy INT call. And intent isn't even required (though hindrance is).

What rule can you cite that excludes "visual impairment" from a fielder's protection?

And what manual or clinic teaches, "only call what you've personally seen called?"

 

Like I said I very well could be wrong, and I understand and know what the rule says and understand how I could be wrong based on that . But I've seen officials that I really respect not call that (runner studded stepping in front of ball). Like most of us I try and learn from those around me especially those that I respect and are seasoned.

Part of the reason I like being on here is I get to learn form more officials.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
ElkOil    694
3 hours ago, White47 said:

Like I said I very well could be wrong, and I understand and know what the rule says and understand how I could be wrong based on that . But I've seen officials that I really respect not call that (runner studded stepping in front of ball). Like most of us I try and learn from those around me especially those that I respect and are seasoned.

Part of the reason I like being on here is I get to learn form more officials.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 

There's a judgement component to making these calls, obviously, so nobody can second-guess the calls made by those you respect. But I will say that I've seen umpires I respect get stuff wrong from time to time.

The rule is clear. You've been Mavened. That is all.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×