Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Guest Brad

Batter

Question

If a pitcher throws a pitch and the ball hots the ground and then hits the batter what happens

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

11 answers to this question

  • 0

Did the batter allow the pitch to hit him? As in, was it such a slow roller that the batter clearly could have gotten out of the way but clearly, consciously chose to let it hit him? If so, keep him at the plate and add a ball to the count. In pretty much any other situation, as long as the batter doesn't swing at the ball, the batter goes to 1B.

 

In other words, there isn't anything magical or different about the ball hitting the ground. It's just a pitch that hit a batter. Judge and rule accordingly.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0

It doesn't matter that the pitch hit the ground other than it can't be called a strike (might still be a strike if swing and miss). Most likely it is batter hit by pitch and awarded first base.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

The only thing a pitch in the dirt cannot be is a called strike.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Is there a rule that a ball in the dirt can't be called a strike, or just that umpires generally won't call it? E.g. a loopy curve ball crosses at the knees and gets blocked or picked by the catcher, who maybe set up a bit too deep in the catchers box.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

it's a rule 

 

OBR - 5.05

 

Quote

(3) If the pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a “ball.” If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter swings at such a pitch after two strikes, the ball cannot be caught, for the purposes of Rule 5.05(b) and 5.09(a)(3). (Rule 2.00 (Ball) Comment)

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
6 minutes ago, stkjock said:

it's a rule 

 

OBR - 5.05

 

 

I think Harry was talking about a pitch that bounces behind the plate. If that the case it can be called a strike if It crosses through the zone. But at higher levels i will not give that. I'm not going to call a pitch a strike that the catcher butchers. Its his job to make me look good.:D At younger levels get a strike where ever you can. 

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Just now, White47 said:

I think Harry was talking about a pitch that bounces behind the plate. If that the case it can be called a strike if It crosses through the zone. But at higher levels i will not give that. I'm not going to call a pitch a strike that the catcher butchers. Its his job to make me look good.:D At younger levels get a strike where ever you can. 

OOPS, reading owned me, I didn't read through the entire post, my mistake.  Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
16 minutes ago, Guest Harry Doyle said:

Is there a rule that a ball in the dirt can't be called a strike, or just that umpires generally won't call it? E.g. a loopy curve ball crosses at the knees and gets blocked or picked by the catcher, who maybe set up a bit too deep in the catchers box.

This is a totally different thing, if I understand correctly. If the ball passes through the strike zone on the fly and then hits the dirt it would (should) be a called strike. 

The OP concerns a pitch which bounces and then passes through the strike zone. This cannot be a called strike.

In both cases, if it is strike 3, it would be a D3K.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
3 minutes ago, White47 said:

At younger levels get a strike where ever you can. 

This! :D

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
14 hours ago, Guest Brad said:

If a pitcher throws a pitch and the ball hots the ground and then hits the batter what happens

The batter says "ouch".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
20 hours ago, maven said:

The only thing a pitch in the dirt cannot be is a called strike.

Or late to dinner.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   You have pasted content with formatting.   Remove formatting

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0