Register or Sign In to remove these ads
ofhs93

Uniform question

ofhs93    46

For those of us up north where it can be a little cool early on....what is the opinion on wearing long sleeve compression base layer with a short sleeve jersey...assuming the color matches? I'm just getting started here...don't have any long sleeved jerseys yet.

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
BrianC14    422

That is frowned upon in my area.   It's considered a look that seems to say "I am very inexperienced at this umpiring thing."  

The approach here is, 'If it's cold enough, wear a jacket.'

• Like 4

maven    3,880

Absolutely not. It's in the Smitty top 10.

Long sleeves are $28 at Honigs.

Screen_Shot_2017-04-17_at_12.52.22_PM.pn

• Like 2

maven    3,880

For those who are wondering: PM noumpere for the other 9. :D

• Like 1

Stk004    599

We had a real long discussion about this a few weeks ago.... maybe a month ago, I haven't been on much. 

• Like 1

MadMax    1,215

The thing to get, that solves a lot of the problem, is the Convertible jacket. Majestic debuted it a few years ago, in Black and Navy. When they ceased making it, Smitty picked it up and continued it. Looks great tucked in, and you can zip on and off the sleeves with ease. Wear it with a base layer, and then with the umpire shirt too, if need be.

I'm from Wisconsin, and used my two Convertible jackets the majority of the spring and fall seasons. When I got to Arizona, I continued to rely upon them for Winter ball, only zipping the sleeves on once the sun went down. There was only 1 January game wherein I had to fish out my ThermaBase jacket.

• Like 1

maineump    349
15 hours ago, MadMax said: