Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
fishnfed

Balk or not

Question

Fed rules, R1, R3, and lefthanded pitcher.  After F1 comes set, R1 begins to run, F1 raises his front foot and spins towards 2nd and becomes disengaged from the pitcher's plate.  R1 stops and the pitcher throws to F6 who is moving towards 2nd.  I have no balk since the pitcher came off the rubber, threw to a fielder moving towards the bag and R1 was advancing.  It was a bit odd looking, but that was my thought process.  Anything from the Knowledge Base?  Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

5 answers to this question

  • 0

No balk as long as it was in a continuous motion. That is merely a pivot move, and he didn't need to come off the rubber.

He was attempting to make a play on a runner that seemed to be running.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
1 hour ago, fishnfed said:

Fed rules, R1, R3, and lefthanded pitcher.  After F1 comes set, R1 begins to run, F1 raises his front foot and spins towards 2nd and becomes disengaged from the pitcher's plate.  R1 stops and the pitcher throws to F6 who is moving towards 2nd.  I have no balk since the pitcher came off the rubber, threw to a fielder moving towards the bag and R1 was advancing.  It was a bit odd looking, but that was my thought process.  Anything from the Knowledge Base?  Thanks

I'd b e careful how you use this term.  "Disengages" means "steps back off the rubber before beginning any other motion."  While your pitcher may no longer be in contact with the rubber from a physics standpoint, he has not "disengaged" in the baseball rules sense.

 

It doesn't really matter in your play, since he's not required to throw to second, but it could matter in other plays.

And, this part is also irrelevant.  Even if F6 had not moved, this would be a legal play.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
25 minutes ago, noumpere said:

I'd b e careful how you use this term.  "Disengages" means "steps back off the rubber before beginning any other motion."  While your pitcher may no longer be in contact with the rubber from a physics standpoint, he has not "disengaged" in the baseball rules sense.

 

It doesn't really matter in your play, since he's not required to throw to second, but it could matter in other plays.

And, this part is also irrelevant.  Even if F6 had not moved, this would be a legal play.

 

Good point.  I can see that going a long way when a coach comes out to discuss what he saw vs what you saw.  Thanks.

 

Good replies from the two.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

No balk, so long as he's throwing to F6 to make a play on a runner.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, EMump said:

No balk, so long as he's throwing to F6 to make a play on a runner.

No balk once he stepped toward 2B to drive back the runner. While it's not a dissengage as per the rule, most likely the pitcher dragged his pivot foot off the rubber in the step. He is now considered dissengaged and could run at the runner also.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   You have pasted content with formatting.   Remove formatting

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor