Jump to content
Mudisfun

Odd set position

Recommended Posts

So watching The ASU/OSU game and saw what to me was a very odd set position... Not questioning it, just sharing it since it was a new one for me...

1aeba4c5597879dfafd2232589061c65.jpg79e4a33a342088f48ee3cb4fa00238a5.jpg760af6f313b58859dee7ac99c011058b.jpg

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can't figure how to edit on tap talk... What was odd was coming at fully facing the runner at 2nd.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wow ...that would have had me :HS
Would like to see his pick off move to 2B,
and his disengagement.

If pitching doesn't work out for him, 
maybe he can find work with Cirque du Soleil.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't... But he started in the normal stretch, came set in the position shown in the second pic and then proceeded to pitch direct to home... Just looked funny.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just tried to come set like that and to see how one would pitch, or disengage, or step to 2B and I almost dislocated my left knee. :wacko2:

  • Like 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I saw a brief clip of it on the Pac12 Network last night. It's weird. Too many pitching coaches with too much time on their hands. Every pitcher for the team I had last weekend had some quirky delivery. They got swept. Figure it out. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My son and I saw that guy pitch a couple weeks ago and he asked me if that was legal. The real quirk, if it's the same guy, is that he taps the toe of his free foot on the way to coming set, and it's a bit more than just a 'touch' of the ground, almost like he puts it down twice. I answered my son "I guess so, because nobody is calling anything, but certainly gives reason to look for something". Just annoying! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, kstrunk said:

Just annoying! 

... because you know that the other team is going to be want you to do something about it. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unfortunately the next pitch ended the inning so I did not get to see him work multiple pitches. I looked up and saw this and my brain just went WHOH... what is that? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I understand that this is a college game, but I'm curious about OBR. Rule 5.07(a)(2) reads, in part, "Set Position shall be indicated by the pitcher when he stands facing the batter with his pivot foot in contact with, and his other foot in front of, the pitcher’s plate, holding the ball in both hands in front of his body and coming to a complete stop." Am I missing something?

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
33 minutes ago, LRZ said:

I understand that this is a college game, but I'm curious about OBR. Rule 5.07(a)(2) reads, in part, "Set Position shall be indicated by the pitcher when he stands facing the batter with his pivot foot in contact with, and his other foot in front of, the pitcher’s plate, holding the ball in both hands in front of his body and coming to a complete stop." Am I missing something?

He did all of that at the beginning... his stopped/set position was as shown in pic 2.

Since this is NCAA I guess the relevant rulings would need to come from there.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Do you have a balk in FED if the free foot isn't in front of a line extending through the front edge of the rubber? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, Stk004 said:

Do you have a balk in FED if the free foot isn't in front of a line extending through the front edge of the rubber? 

yes...but similar to other discussions on the hybrid or other pitching issues, I'd have to be certain that part of the pivot foot is across that line, I'm not going to Zapruder millimeters. But I'd have to see that because goofy, in and of itself, ain't illegal.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This clip even has some from the wind up.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Seems okay to me (from the angle presented).  It's a little strange, but if we balked all the strange things we've seen from pitchers every single would turn into a run scored in three more pitches.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Legal.

He's trying to get an advantage on R1. He has the opposite problem from most LHP's: most have the free foot toward home, and as they start their pick move are at risk of moving toward the plate and balking.

He is lined up toward 1B, so if he moves toward 1B and then pitches, that would be a balk.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Legal.

NCAA 9-1-b: The set position shall be indicated when the pitcher stands with his chest generally facing the respective foul lines........

Criteria met when he took the sign in a legal position.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

At :52, it seems his shoulders are facing HP and then he comes set. Why would this not be a balk?

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
37 minutes ago, Kevin_K said:

At :52, it seems his shoulders are facing HP and then he comes set. Why would this not be a balk?

 

Because that's his windup.  He steps "closed" as opposed to stepping "open" like most.  That first step commits him to pitch.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All I know is my knee hurts watching him contort around to come set!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×