Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
sthomas13100

DH enter game to pitch

Recommended Posts

NFHS Rules;  DH in 7 hole for catcher, pitcher in 9 hole.  6th inning, coach enters the DH into the game to pitch.  So, I'm thinking the catcher is scratched and as a starter he has re-entry privileges.

However, the catcher remains on defense and the (former) pitcher goes to the dugout.  Since the catcher and (former DH/new pitcher) are both batting in the 7th hole, I don't think this is a proper substitution.  I was there watching and no one said a word that I could hear.  The DH (new pitcher) continued batting in the 7th hole and the catcher never came up to bat, the old pitcher continued in the 9th spot.  Now, the 9 hole did strike out, so maybe this is why no one ever said anything, but I still think this was handled wrong.

I think the catcher should have gone to the bench and would not be available until the new pitcher was replaced.  A sub could be made for the old pitcher and became the catcher, batting in the 9th spot.

The way I understand the HS DH rule, 2 players doing 1/2 of the duty as a player.  Once one does the other, then that player is now in the batting order, solo.  Re-entry rule applies to both, but must re-enter in the same batting order. 

So finally my question, should the umpire not allowed the catcher to remain on the field?  Or is this something the opposing team must protest?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
10 minutes ago, sthomas13100 said:

So finally my question, should the umpire not allowed the catcher to remain on the field?  Or is this something the opposing team must protest?

THis.  Given that it didn't happen, then the defense can make it known and the penalty for an illegal sub will be applied.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
NFHS Rules;  DH in 7 hole for catcher, pitcher in 9 hole.  6th inning, coach enters the DH into the game to pitch.  So, I'm thinking the catcher is scratched and as a starter he has re-entry privileges.
However, the catcher remains on defense and the (former) pitcher goes to the dugout.  Since the catcher and (former DH/new pitcher) are both batting in the 7th hole, I don't think this is a proper substitution.  I was there watching and no one said a word that I could hear.  The DH (new pitcher) continued batting in the 7th hole and the catcher never came up to bat, the old pitcher continued in the 9th spot.  Now, the 9 hole did strike out, so maybe this is why no one ever said anything, but I still think this was handled wrong.
I think the catcher should have gone to the bench and would not be available until the new pitcher was replaced.  A sub could be made for the old pitcher and became the catcher, batting in the 9th spot.
The way I understand the HS DH rule, 2 players doing 1/2 of the duty as a player.  Once one does the other, then that player is now in the batting order, solo.  Re-entry rule applies to both, but must re-enter in the same batting order. 
So finally my question, should the umpire not allowed the catcher to remain on the field?  Or is this something the opposing team must protest?

What state are you in? I heard that Florida is using a version of the NCAA DH rule in their HS games.@Jaxrolo should be able to verify that

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You shouldn't have allowed the substitution.  When you say the coach "enters the DH in the game to pitch" - how did this transpire?  Normally, the coach will go to the umpire to give his changes, which is the time you would have asked who the DH was subbing for on defense.  When he said the former pitcher, then you should have told him that the new pitcher (former DH) and the catcher (whom he was batting for) cannot be on defense at the same time since they occupy the same spot in the batting order.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Grayhawk, I was watching this game from the stands.  I still have a son playing in HS, but never do his games.  But if this ever happens to me, I wanted to be prepared.  I like your verbiage.

Still using your old shin guards by the way, made a slight modification to them.  The hard plastic now sit closer to the top of my plate shoes.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So not only is the DH locked into the batting order, the player who he's batting for is also locked into that slot in the batting order? Is that the same for OBR?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
32 minutes ago, Stk004 said:

So not only is the DH locked into the batting order, the player who he's batting for is also locked into that slot in the batting order? Is that the same for OBR?

Yes.

Kinda, but in OBR, the DH must bat for F1. Plus some other differences (see 5.11).

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, maven said:

Yes.

Kinda, but in OBR, the DH must bat for F1. Plus some other differences (see 5.11).

 

3 hours ago, Stk004 said:

So not only is the DH locked into the batting order, the PITCHER who he's batting for is also locked into that slot in the batting order? Is that the same for OBR?

In OBR the player who would have been a pitcher can end up in a different slot in the batting order than the DH slot.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Jimurray said:

 

In OBR the player who would have been a pitcher can end up in a different slot in the batting order than the DH slot.

That's what I thought. I'm new to FED so I must have missed that part my first time through the rule book.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Last night district opener, my partner asked VHC about the F1/DH slot on the line-up card but only one name. VHC asked if he could designate him later. :HS ... ah, no, you have to designate him now. OK, then we'll go without the DH. Later, it dawns me that they tried to keep stud F1/stud batter/unstud glove as the DH after done pitching (allowed in college, I believe). Nice catch partner. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 3/14/2017 at 2:24 PM, ALStripes17 said:


What state are you in? I heard that Florida is using a version of the NCAA DH rule in their HS games.@Jaxrolo should be able to verify that

FLorida uses P/DH were the Pitcher can be his own DH. If he gets taken out of the game he can still bat. Rarely used.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×