Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
kylehutson

Pitcher's glove

Recommended Posts

I don't do NCAA (at least, not yet) and am unfamiliar with some of the rules differences. I work for the university that posted this: https://twitter.com/KStateBSB/status/838505463004082176

My first thought was "isn't that a grey swoosh on the pitcher's glove? Isn't that illegal?"

Is that not an NCAA rule? Or maybe it's just the light coming off the glove weird, but wouldn't reflective be illegal as well?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads

The pitcher’s glove may not be white or gray, exclusive of piping nor, in the judgment of the umpire, be distracting in any way�

PENALTY for d�—  A violator shall be given reasonable time to correct the situation� If it is not done, the violator shall be ejected from the game�

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, MidAmUmp said:

I don't see anything wrong with it.

Giant swoosh. Nike taking advantage of the "except on logos" in some interpretations. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Looks good to me - I had to really look to see what I was supposed to look at. That isn't distracting

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All of the above is why I posted the rule for the OP to read.  I do get why some *might* have the logo as distracting (under certain lights / etc -- and having not seen the actual glove), but in general it's a nit I would not pick

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, Haid D' Salaami said:

There is nothing wrong with this glove... it cant be white or grey to exclude the piping.

That's not piping and it's gray.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 3/14/2017 at 3:00 PM, Haid D' Salaami said:

the logo has nothing to do with the rule.. THIS IS A LEGAL GLOVE.. LEAVE THIS ALONE.

Why is it legal? It has a large expanse of gray and the gray is not the excepted piping.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
33 minutes ago, Rich Ives said:

Why is it legal? It has a large expanse of gray and the gray is not the excepted piping.

I believe the rule is more geared to prevent the usage of gloves like this by a pitcher, the rule is not made to make a pitcher with a black glove change it. 

z-whitegrey.jpg

a2000_ot6_overlay_back_600_ss.png

9d884350f3a4fa130f25b20e20a51ab5.jpg

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Rich Ives said:

Why is it legal? It has a large expanse of gray and the gray is not the excepted piping.

The Nike swoosh is gray, ...so what?

I'd like to see your reaction when an umpire disallows your pitcher using that glove.  You'd have a fit, and you know it.

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 3/10/2017 at 6:44 AM, kylehutson said:

Or maybe it's just the light coming off the glove weird, but wouldn't reflective be illegal as well?

I see what you are referring to... it does appear to be somewhat reflective... I might, MIGHT have an issue with that on a sunny day if it was beaming into my eyes but other than that there is no way I am picking this bugger normally. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 3/17/2017 at 0:38 PM, Thunderheads said:

The Nike swoosh is gray, ...so what?

I'd like to see your reaction when an umpire disallows your pitcher using that glove.  You'd have a fit, and you know it.

 

You don't know me and I wouldn't allow my F1 to use the glove.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

One thing that jumped out at me was how the pitcher is holding it, turning his hand more than most do to fully expose the shiny swoosh. Maybe it's more innocuous than I'm making it, but, like I said, I noticed that right away, which was suggestive to me that he knows it can be distracting, and is tryin got take advantage of that.

If it flashes at me (like with Mudisfun and his sunny day point) then it becomes distracting to me, and I'll make him change it. Otherwise, I am probably not going to do anything about it unless someone complains.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Let it go. Good to Go

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, JaxRolo said:

Let it go. Good to Go

Great answer! A friend of mine always says "don't look for fly poop in the pepper shaker". Seems to fit this scenario.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am pretty sure that the glove manufacturers know the rules, and what pitcher's can use. That logo IMO is not an issue. There are uniforms our there with much more gray or white on the front that is more distracting than that glove is.

The rule book (in this case) is a guide - we need to use some common sense.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
26 minutes ago, maineump said:

The rule book (in this case) is a guide - we need to use some common sense.

Didn't some one  - maybe @JonnyCat & @Majordave -  say to use the rule book to solve problems rather than create them?

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 4/12/2017 at 11:30 AM, Rich Ives said:

You don't know me and I wouldn't allow my F1 to use the glove.

That is not the rule.. the Glove.. the glove.. not the logo or the piping.. it can not be grey or white...

 

the Piping..and logo is fine if it is grey.. HOLY cow you guys need to stop digging and make up your own interpretations. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'll get one more kick... THERE!... on this dead horse...

If you guys read the article, and understand the context, the pitcher in question threw a complete game no-hitter. As in, there were 27 batters he faced wherein this "egregiously distracting glove logo" could have been addressed by the umpires. And what are we seeing in the clip? Out number 27. Does he still have the glove on? Yes.

Then it must not have been an officially-interpreted distraction. Umpires didn't miss anything; the glove is legal. Case closed, call the equine renderer to get this carcass off the field.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×