Register or Sign In to remove these ads
MT73

Balk Question

13 posts in this topic

Bases loaded.

Pitcher balks and hits batter with pitch.

Question: Is the balk nullified because the batter and all runners advance?

Or do we enforce the balk?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
10 minutes ago, MT73 said:

Bases loaded.

Pitcher balks and hits batter with pitch.

Question: Is the balk nullified because the batter and all runners advance?

Or do we enforce the balk?

Doesn't this answer the question?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
20 minutes ago, MT73 said:

Question: Is the balk nullified because the batter and all runners advance?

Or do we enforce the balk?

Since you clearly understand the balk rule, you must be wondering whether the batter must advance because of a batted ball, or whether the HBP satisfies the "batter advances" provision.

The answer is that, with bases loaded, if the batter advances for any reason, then the balk will be nullified. HBP, BB, DSK without a play, all will count and nullify the balk. A batted ball is not required (or it would appear in the balk rule instead of "the batter advances").

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
21 minutes ago, maven said:

Since you clearly understand the balk rule, you must be wondering whether the batter must advance because of a batted ball, or whether the HBP satisfies the "batter advances" provision.

The answer is that, with bases loaded, if the batter advances for any reason, then the balk will be nullified. HBP, BB, DSK without a play, all will count and nullify the balk. A batted ball is not required (or it would appear in the balk rule instead of "the batter advances").

I'm guessing this is the interp of OBR, since the ball isn't dead immediately.  How is this affected by the FED rule set since the ball would be dead upon the balk?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'm guessing this is the interp of OBR, since the ball isn't dead immediately.  How is this affected by the FED rule set since the ball would be dead upon the balk?

Ball is dead immediately in FED... there was no HBP.
4 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 hours ago, maven said:

Since you clearly understand the balk rule, you must be wondering whether the batter must advance because of a batted ball, or whether the HBP satisfies the "batter advances" provision.

The answer is that, with bases loaded, if the batter advances for any reason, then the balk will be nullified. HBP, BB, DSK without a play, all will count and nullify the balk. A batted ball is not required (or it would appear in the balk rule instead of "the batter advances").

Thank you.

Yes, that was my mini confusion.

And yes, this was an OBR interpretation question.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
20 hours ago, ALStripes17 said:


Ball is dead immediately in FED... there was no HBP.

Reminds me of the Matrix... there is no spoon.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 2/26/2017 at 5:52 PM, Rich Ives said:

Doesn't this answer the question?

Why do you have to remind us weekly that you can be such an A$$?  He didn't ask a stupid question.  The rules book is full of vague and confusing language.  Nowhere does it specifically say, "Including reaching 1B on a HBP."  I can understand that a well-meaning official would question this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 2/26/2017 at 6:00 PM, maven said:

Since you clearly understand the balk rule, you must be wondering whether the batter must advance because of a batted ball, or whether the HBP satisfies the "batter advances" provision.

The answer is that, with bases loaded, if the batter advances for any reason, then the balk will be nullified. HBP, BB, DSK without a play, all will count and nullify the balk. A batted ball is not required (or it would appear in the balk rule instead of "the batter advances").

Thank you for being a true and classy Maven.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 2/26/2017 at 6:27 PM, ALStripes17 said:

Ball is dead immediately in FED... there was no HBP.

Fed Justice:

"Ladies and gentlemen of the jury, the Grand Slam home run you thought you saw did not legally happen ... please strike what you thought you saw from your memories.  Let it bear no weight ... ZERO ... on the decision you have to make as to who is the better offensive team.  If the jury foreman/forewoman senses that you are placing any weight on the evident Grand Slam, which, as I clarified, did not legally happen, then you will be replaced and you will possibly face a charge of contempt."

2 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
56 minutes ago, VolUmp said:

"Ladies and gentlemen of the jury, the Grand Slam home run you thought you saw did not legally happen ... please strike what you thought you saw from your memories...."

I've had the reverse happen as well (OBR): no stop balk (called), F1 pitches, batter hits a double down the line, but nobody moves because a balk was called! I think my partner might have said, sotto voce, "run, son!"

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 2/28/2017 at 1:33 PM, maven said:

I think my partner might have said, sotto voce, "run, son!"

Now THAT's funny!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now