Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Waldo

IFF who has the call

Question

9 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1

Whoever has catch/no catch should make the IFF call. PU near the lines, BU inside.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

You can also pre-game it. Some guys I work with prefer that the plate guy verbalize it while the base guy points, since he may have a better view of the ball on a pop up..

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
2 hours ago, maven said:

Whoever has catch/no catch should make the IFF call. PU near the lines, BU inside.

^ this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
9 hours ago, ElkOil said:

You can also pre-game it. Some guys I work with prefer that the plate guy verbalize it while the base guy points, since he may have a better view of the ball on a pop up..

This mechanic is so basic — and getting it wrong so costless — that I wouldn't think pre-gaming it would be a good use of time. I certainly don't pre-game every basic mechanic in the book (and I wouldn't sit around if a partner tried to do so).

And no mechanic manual I've heard of supports the "division of labor" mechanic you describe.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

The PBUC "Manual for the Two-Umpire System" for MiLB reads, in part, "There is no restriction on which umpire should initiate the infield fly call other than the plate umpire should be the one to initiate the call if the fly ball is hit near either foul line." (page 58 of the edition I got 2-3 years ago)

The 2014 PBUC Umpire Manual reads, "the umpire is to rule," without specifying which umpire. It goes on to state, "When one umpire calls an infield fly, other umpires are instructed to follow the call immediately...." (page 101)

Has this been superseded? Is the catch/no catch principle a Fed mechanic?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
14 hours ago, LRZ said:

The PBUC "Manual for the Two-Umpire System" for MiLB reads, in part, "There is no restriction on which umpire should initiate the infield fly call other than the plate umpire should be the one to initiate the call if the fly ball is hit near either foul line." (page 58 of the edition I got 2-3 years ago)

The 2014 PBUC Umpire Manual reads, "the umpire is to rule," without specifying which umpire. It goes on to state, "When one umpire calls an infield fly, other umpires are instructed to follow the call immediately...." (page 101)

Has this been superseded? Is the catch/no catch principle a Fed mechanic?

As a practical matter, there's no difference between what PBUC says and what Maven says.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 11/20/2016 at 6:25 AM, maven said:

This mechanic is so basic — and getting it wrong so costless — that I wouldn't think pre-gaming it would be a good use of time. I certainly don't pre-game every basic mechanic in the book (and I wouldn't sit around if a partner tried to do so).

And no mechanic manual I've heard of supports the "division of labor" mechanic you describe.

I'm a rebel like that. Just turning the umpiring world on its ear. 

Now, I know what you're thinking, but really... there's no need to thank me.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×