Register or Sign In to remove these ads
sd181612

Was that a foul ball?

48 posts in this topic

I'm watching the game and that fly towards the backstop is hit. Rizzo bounces it off of his hand then off of his glove and catches it. Isn't that supposed to be foul?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
15 minutes ago, stkjock said:

Why? Never touched anything but a defensive player.  Ross and then Rizzo. 

It was the dugout BTW

 

edit - video

 

http://m.mlb.com/video/topic/6479266/v1210245983

Right but the rule states that whenever a foul ball touches a player in foul territory or umpire, or any object that is foreign to the field it is be deemed a foul ball. 

In baseball, a foul ball is a batted ball that:[1][2]

  • Settles on foul territory between home and first base or between home and third base, or
  • Bounds past first or third base on or over foul territory, or
  • First falls on foul territory beyond first or third base, or
  • While on or over foul territory, touches the person of an umpire or player, or any object foreign to the natural ground.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, sd181612 said:

Right but the rule states that whenever a foul ball touches a player in foul territory or umpire, or any object that is foreign to the field it is be deemed a foul ball. 

In baseball, a foul ball is a batted ball that:[1][2]

  • Settles on foul territory between home and first base or between home and third base, or
  • Bounds past first or third base on or over foul territory, or
  • First falls on foul territory beyond first or third base, or
  • While on or over foul territory, touches the person of an umpire or player, or any object foreign to the natural ground.

That last part is interpreted to mean if it touches a player in foul territory and then deflects fair it is a foul ball. The ball can still be caught on the fly for an out. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, LittleBlue said:

That last part is interpreted to mean if it touches a player in foul territory and then deflects fair it is a foul ball. The ball can still be caught on the fly for an out. 

So it was an out? :huh:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's an foul ball out, it has to be, if the ball was caught clean you'd have an out, never hits a foreign object. 

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 minutes ago, sd181612 said:

So it was an out? :huh:

If the ball touches a player, who is over foul ground, on the fly and deflects cleanly to another player and is caught you have an out. If the ball touches a player, who is over foul ground, on the fly and then lands on the ground it is a foul ball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It was a foul ball.

It was also caught for an out.  Scored 2-3.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's also not foul until it goes past the base, stops or is touched by something that isn't the ground. I still see guys calling a ball foul as soon as it hits the ground. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Mister B said:

It's also not foul until it goes past the base, stops or is touched by something that isn't the ground. I still see guys calling a ball foul as soon as it hits the ground. 

Also, as was pointed out at a clinic, if you're not on the line for the love of God don't give a F/F decision. 

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What's missing in this discussion is the definition of IN FLIGHT. A ball in flight, fair or foul, may be caught for an out. Of course this ball was foul — it certainly wasn't fair, and what's the other option? — but is it still IN FLIGHT, so that it may be caught for an out?

Don't confuse in flight/not in flight with fair/foul. The two are completely independent, and fair/foul status is irrelevant to determining whether a ball may be caught for an out.

 

3 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, Mister B said:

It's also not foul until it goes past the base, stops or is touched by something that isn't the ground. I still see guys calling a ball foul as soon as it hits the ground. 

And I see some guys who have proper timing but yell foul at the top of their lungs when the need to yell foul does not exist. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, Mister B said:

It's also not foul until it goes past the base, stops or is touched by something that isn't the ground. I still see guys calling a ball foul as soon as it hits the ground. 

Fixable. We had a guy like that once - didn't understand the rule. Fixed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, LittleBlue said:

And I see some guys who have proper timing but yell foul at the top of their lungs when the need to yell foul does not exist. 

Here in LLville, I'll take that. We teach the kids to run on any hit, and that the umpire will let them know if it goes foul. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, Mister B said:

Here in LLville, I'll take that. We teach the kids to run on any hit, and that the umpire will let them know if it goes foul. 

Oh if there are runners on base then by all means call it and call it loud but I mean with no one on if a batter hits a squiber between home and first that everyone knows is foul you can just calmly say foul when a fielder touches it. I've worked with a lot of partners who will yell fouls loudly even when the batter hasn't left the box because everyone and their birthger knows the ball will be foul when it is touched.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My real question is (sorry for the confusing title) is the ruling of an out correct, or should it be foul, since it touched a fielder (counts as foul territory) and was then caught?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, sd181612 said:

My real question is (sorry for the confusing title) is the ruling of an out correct, or should it be foul, since it touched a fielder (counts as foul territory) and was then caught?

As has been answered several times -- it's an out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe, if it touches a defensive player while in the air it is still a live ball. If it touches something else, other than the ground, in foul territory, it is foul*. After it touches the ground in foul territory it is a live ball until it comes to rest or touches something that isn't the ground in foul territory*. 

So, if that ball in the WS had hit the railing of the dugout after bouncing out of Ross' glove and before Rizzo caught it, it would be foul. 

*If the batter intentionally touches the ball in foul territory that had a chance to go fair, that's interference. Otherwise it is foul.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 minutes ago, Mister B said:

I believe, if it touches a defensive player while in the air it is still a live ball. If it touches something else, other than the ground, in foul territory, it is foul*. After it touches the ground in foul territory it is a live ball until it comes to rest or touches something that isn't the ground in foul territory*. 

So, if that ball in the WS had hit the railing of the dugout after bouncing out of Ross' glove and before Rizzo caught it, it would be foul. 

*If the batter intentionally touches the ball in foul territory that had a chance to go fair, that's interference. Otherwise it is foul.

Really appreciate it. Clears things up for me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
34 minutes ago, sd181612 said:

My real question is (sorry for the confusing title) is the ruling of an out correct, or should it be foul, since it touched a fielder (counts as foul territory) and was then caught?

It's both.

Fair or foul? Foul.

Catch or no catch? Catch.

2 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It was a pop up over foul territory that was caught for an out -- deflecting off of one player and caught by another.

If all foul balls are dead ... which they are ... it's confusing to say it was both a foul ball and a catch for an out.

One of 472 problems with the OBR book.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So reverse maven's conditions. 

Was the ball caught? Yes. It's an out and a live ball. No. Where was the ball when it hit the player or glove? Fair and live if fair and foul and dead if foul. 

Remember, a fly ball deflected off a player is still in flight and can still be caught. So even though it hits a player, the first condition has not been met. 

Doesn't seem like that would be a difficult one to fix. To be a foul, the ball has to be uncaught...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, WildFlyer said:

If all foul balls are dead ... which they are ... it's confusing to say it was both a foul ball and a catch for an out.

One of 472 problems with the OBR book.

No, they're not all dead. Example: R3, less than 2 outs, long foul fly to RF that is caught by F9 in flight. R3 tags up and scores, beating the throw from F9.

If the foul ball were dead, R3 could not advance, and there would be no play at the plate.

A foul ball is dead only after it touches something other than a player. And this is not a problem with the book.

5 hours ago, Mister B said:

To be a foul, the ball has to be uncaught...

And this is not right either. A batted ball is foul if it meets the conditions in the rule book. A fly ball caught over foul territory is still foul (a "foul out" in the scorebook).

Avoid a simple reduction that fair = live, foul = dead. Both are wrong. I've already given an example of a foul ball that's live (caught foul fly). Here's an example of a fair ball that's dead: long fly ball down the RF line, hits the foul pole on the fly. The moment its fair/foul status is determined, it becomes dead (and a HR).

Fair/foul tells us nothing about live/dead. They're defined by different rules and determined by different criteria. Most foul balls become dead; most fair balls are live. That doesn't imply that they're the same.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now

  • Similar Content

    • By MadMax
      Fired up the AppleTV to watch the video clips of Orlando Arcia scoring from 1B on an infield single and escaping from a 3B-HP rundown (this had to be good!) to discover that the Orioles vs. Brewers game is the Featured Free Game of the Day. When prompted to login (I just have a lapsed, standard account), I noticed that the cost for a Year's Subscription is... only $19.99!!! The monthly is $24.99. This may have been a misprint, but I took a shot, and sure enough, I was charged $19.99 for the rest of the year of premium baseball coverage.
      Happy Independence Day! Watch some baseball!
    • By umpirebrianc
      The 6th Annual East Texas Umpire Clinic is coming Jan 27-29.  Learn from a 2016 World Series Umpire!!! Marvin Hudson is on our staff and will be here again in 2017.  
      Only $115 right now for Fri-Sun - check out www.umpireclinics.com for all the details.  Don't miss an incredible opportunity to learn from incredible instructors at the top of their game to help you better your game.
      Questions email me - umpireclinics@gmail.com
      Brian Chinn
    • By Thunderheads
      Ok, .... please read carefully and hear me out .... 
      I'm a HS umpire and that's all I'll ever be, partly because that's what I enjoy and that's my inspiration.   I don't have the time or schedule to do College ball, so what I do I'm perfectly happy with.  And, to add ....  I do a decent job.
      Now, ... I'll NEVER be at the level of the guys on the field right now, and 99.9999999% of all of us on the site won't either, however.  IF I ever got to do a game at the level of a plate in the world series, I certainly wouldn't have my hands in my pockets most of the night.  I feel Guccione did a fine job last night, no doubt, and he probably accomplished a dream last night by doing his first World Series plate job.   But, did anyone else notice this?  I know it was pretty 'raw' in Cleveland last night but would gloves be a good alternative?   I just think the hands in pockets thing looks as if you don't care.
      Am I off base here, or was this noticed by anyone else?
      Again, I'm not bashing Guccione per-say, but how does that 'look' to others?  Make sense?
      I posted something similar on Facebook and you'd think that I called Guccione's mother a nasty name!  Geez  
      Anyhow, thoughts?
    • By gnhbua93
      http://m.mlb.com/video/topic/53157956/v1057710383/mlb-now-digs-into-robotic-umpires