Register or Sign In to remove these ads
nicshow

Terrible Game - Illegal Pitches

10 posts in this topic

Had a terrible game tonight and looking for some help.

I'm in my 3rd year and still lack some confidence with calling illegal pitches. Had this team 2 weeks ago and I watched and studied this pitcher and was all but sure she was leaping when delivering. Did some more research in the interim and was 100% convinced that every time she throws it is illegal.

Had conversation with my partner before tonight's game. He has far more experience than me and I told him the situation. He advised and I concurred that we not make it an issue unless and until other team saw it. It didn't take long.

While dusting the pitcher's plate between innings I told the pitcher that she had to make an adjustment. No change. I went to head coach between innings and told him that she had to make an adjustment and he concurred that she was illegal pitching. No change next inning and so I started calling illegal pitches. Of course, the whole place game unglued with all the usual remarks and complaints.

I know I probably should have called every pitch the rest of the night "illegal" but I didn't have the guts to just keep calling it knowing that I would just get more and more grief. Of course, I got grief from the offended team for not calling it.

I'm mad at my colleagues that it has come to this point in the season and I'm apparently the first one to be in this position. I'm mad at the coach for not coaching his pitcher better and for not taking her out of the game. But, of course, I realize that it was my situation to deal with and I'm sure I didn't handle it well.

Couldn't eat any dinner tonight for the knot in my stomach.

Any advice on how I could have dealt with this differently will be appreciated.

Nic

Register or Sign In to remove these ads

This is why I won't touch softball with a 10 foot pole. Sorry that I don't have any helpful advice to offer.

3 people like this