Register or Sign In to remove these ads
johnnyg08

Legal Move?

22 posts in this topic


Register or Sign In to remove these ads

R2 only not stealing, F1 steps and feints to 3B? Why is this difficult?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So here's the learning piece then...

If you have it as legal and OC wants an explanation, what do you say?

If you have it as a balk and DC wants an explanation, what do you say?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, johnnyg08 said:


If you have it as a balk and DC wants an explanation, what do you say?

No step.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Looks like he is making the fake to 2B - did he gain ground? Maybe> His front foot did cross the rubber, so only moves from there are to HP or 2B.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 minutes ago, maineump said:

Looks like he is making the fake to 2B - did he gain ground? Maybe> His front foot did cross the rubber, so only moves from there are to HP or 2B.

you can't tell from the video ............

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I do not have his shoulders moving towards HP....just a dip at the start of this legally deceptive pick-off move.
Watch his non-pivot foot. It does gain direction/distance towards 2B. 

I have nothing. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, ricka56 said:

I do not have his shoulders moving towards HP....just a dip at the start of this legally deceptive pick-off move.
Watch his non-pivot foot. It does gain direction/distance towards 2B. 

I have nothing. 

I see it as the start of his normal pitching motion.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Rich Ives said:

I see it as the start of his normal pitching motion.

Then you just got picked off...you're out. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, Thunderheads said:

you can't tell from the video ............

I can't tell for sure, but don't see any movement towards the plate. If I was in C position, I would have no problem with this move.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, maineump said:

Looks like he is making the fake to 2B - did he gain ground? Maybe> His front foot did cross the rubber, so only moves from there are to HP or 2B.

He has to step more toward 2B than toward 3B. Distance AND direction.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, ricka56 said:

Then you just got picked off...you're out. 

Front shoulder dipped as on a pitch. 

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, Matt said:

Nothing.

ah...see...for those of you who thought it was a balk, check the scorebook ... haw 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

He must of used that move before, runner wasnt fooled at all.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I showed it to the crew I'm with this weekend and based what we've seen on the video, none of us have a balk. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 minutes ago, MidAmUmp said:

I showed it to the crew I'm with this weekend and based what we've seen on the video, none of us have a balk. 

Why wouldn't you (y'all) call this a balk? is it because he stepped off to the back of the rubber?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, jpperez14 said:

Why wouldn't you (y'all) call this a balk? is it because he stepped off to the back of the rubber?

It's hard to tell from that perspective where his pivot foot was in relation to the rubber, so I'll assume for this discussion his foot was on it. I'd balk him for a no-step. To your point, if his foot was off it, I'd still balk him for mimicking his delivery while off the rubber (assuming the rule in college is the same as FED).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only way we'd call it is if he didn't clear the rubber on his step. He's not mimicking a delivery. Everything else is fine.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, MidAmUmp said:

The only way we'd call it is if he didn't clear the rubber on his step. He's not mimicking a delivery. Everything else is fine.

Why does he have to clear the rubber with his free foot? Because then it could be a step to 3B or 1B depending on the pitcher's hand? Would you allow a jab step towards home with the free foot not clearing the rubber? Not that we see it that much. Anyway IITBTSB.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now