Register or Sign In to remove these ads
12u under OBR. I am in 'C' with runners at 1st and 2nd.
Batter squares to bunt, pitch is WAY inside, pitch hits batter in the stomach. Partner calls TIME and tells batter to take first. All sounds fine, EXCEPT the batter CLEARLY offered at the pitch.
DC politely approached plate and conversation goes like this:
DC: Sir, didn't he offer at the pitch?
PU: Coach, the batter was hit by the pitch.
DC: Yes, I know that, but didn't he offer at the pitch?
DC: Can you check with your partner?
PU: No, that's not an appealable call.
I know the initial call is his, and I'm only to get involved if HE asks for help...but when he is mistaken on a point of rule (as opposed to judgment) should I have done anything? I had been trying throughout the entire time to quietly get his attention, to let him know I had info he ought to know. The coach walked back to the dugout scratching his head.