Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
BaseballDudester

Right hander Pump Fake to 3rd?

Recommended Posts


Register or Sign In to remove these ads
Welpe    290

Which rule set?

In straight OBR, no. In NFHS and NCAA, yes.

Edited by Welpe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
basejester    395

OBR = Official Baseball Rules = rules used in MLB

NFHS = National Federation of State High School Associations = High School Rules

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Basically we're talking about the start of the 3-1 move correct?  But a left hander cannot do this towards first though right?  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
ricka56    1,062

Basically we're talking about the start of the 3-1 move correct?  But a left hander cannot do this towards first though right?  

​No, he can not. If you understand the rule, you know why.

3-1 move (RHP) illegal in OBR, Legal in Fed/NCAA.
1-3 move (LHP) illegal in all codes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
blue23ll    839

Can a right handed pitcher pump fake while stepping off the towards 3rd but not throw the ball with a runner on 3rd? 

​Does this mean in the process of disengaging the rubber, or stepping toward the base? If the pitcher has disengaged, he can fake all he wants, no?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
kylehutson    296

​Does this mean in the process of disengaging the rubber, or stepping toward the base? If the pitcher has disengaged, he can fake all he wants, no?

​The pitcher can do whatever he wants after he has completely stepped behind the rubber with his pivot foot. Jumping in the air and landing with his pivot foot behind the base still counts as a play from the rubber.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Richvee    1,724

Can a right handed pitcher pump fake while stepping off the towards 3rd but not throw the ball with a runner on 3rd? 

​This isn't clear. Did he step off the back of the rubber with his pivot foot, or did he step towards third with his free foot? makes all the difference in the world under OBR

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
noumpere    2,413

Basically we're talking about the start of the 3-1 move correct?  But a left hander cannot do this towards first though right?  

​The LH?  No he cannot.

 

The RH?  Same thing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

​This isn't clear. Did he step off the back of the rubber with his pivot foot, or did he step towards third with his free foot? makes all the difference in the world under OBR

​No he was still engaged with the rubber while faking to 3rd. He did not step off the rubber while making the move to 3rd with a runner on. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Richvee    1,724

Step and no throw to 3rd illegal in OBR and (Babe Ruth I believe?), legal everywhere else. 

Step and no throw to 1st. universally illegal. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Storm13    14
On 5/4/2015 at 1:30 AM, Richvee said:

Step and no throw to 3rd illegal in OBR and (Babe Ruth I believe?), legal everywhere else. 

Step and no throw to 1st. universally illegal. 

Can anyone help me find this ruling in the book...my partner and I had a discussion about this the other day and I can't seem to find it.  OBR and Babe Ruth would be great.  We were doing an adult game and they play OBR but we discussed BR too

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
noumpere    2,413
5 minutes ago, Storm13 said:

Can anyone help me find this ruling in the book...my partner and I had a discussion about this the other day and I can't seem to find it.  OBR and Babe Ruth would be great.  We were doing an adult game and they play OBR but we discussed BR too

6.02(a)(3) CMT: "A pitcher ... is required to throw (except to second base) because he steps."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Stk004    599
On 6/11/2017 at 5:16 PM, Storm13 said:

Can anyone help me find this ruling in the book...my partner and I had a discussion about this the other day and I can't seem to find it.  OBR and Babe Ruth would be great.  We were doing an adult game and they play OBR but we discussed BR too

Here's the full rule and comment. 

Quote

 

6.02(a)(3) The pitcher, while touching his plate, fails to step directly toward a base before throwing to that base; 2017 Official Baseball Rules_2017 Official Baseball Rules 3/27/17 8:58 PM Page 71 Rule 6.02(a) 72 Rule 6.02(a )(3)

Comment (Rule 8.05(c) Comment ): Requires the pitcher, while touching his plate, to step directly toward a base before throwing to that base. If a pitcher turns or spins off of his free foot without actually stepping or if he turns his body and throws before stepping, it is a balk. A pitcher is to step directly toward a base before throwing to that base and is required to throw (except to second base) because he steps. It is a balk if, with runners on first and third, the pitcher steps toward third and does not throw, merely to bluff the runner back to third; then seeing the runner on first start for second, turn and step toward and throw to first base. It is legal for a pitcher to feint a throw to second base.

 

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×