• 0

Obstruction Vs. Interference

Question

Posted · Report post

Need a little education here.  Obstruction happens to base runner and typically results in a base award and/or a dead ball   Interference happens to a fielder and typically results in an out?

Many Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

8 answers to this question

  • 0

Posted · Report post

Easier still :

 

OBSTRUCTION is an act done by the DEFENSE  (think of "obstructing a runner")

 

INTERFERENCE is an act done by the OFFENSE (think of a runner interfering with a player making a play)

 

But ...basically, yes

 

P.S. You'll get much more details soon from others! :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads
  • 0

Posted · Report post

obstruction does not always end in base awards if the runner advances to the base that the umpire protects him to then the obstruction call is not enforced

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

obstruction does not always end in base awards if the runner advances to the base that the umpire protects him to then the obstruction call is not enforced

 

.... excpet in Fed ...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

There are other kinds of interference not initiated by the offense:

 

1.  Catcher's Interference (in OBR).  Fed more properly labels it Catcher's Obstruction. (neither would result in an out).

2.  Spectator Interference (may or may not result in an out).

3.  Umpire Interference (which would never result in an out.  If an out is recorded, the interference is ignored).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

Be aware that possible int could become obs in an instant. Same goes the other way.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

Be aware that possible int could become obs in an instant. Same goes the other way.

An obstruction situation could turn into an interference call and vice versa. What won't happen is a call of one type won't turn into the other.

Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

Interference:

 

http://wapc.mlb.com/play/?content_id=28147081&query=interference (R1 attempts to break up DP but interferes with fielder)

 

http://wapc.mlb.com/play/?content_id=26573579&query=interference (Ball hits BR in box)

 

http://wapc.mlb.com/play/?content_id=24892543&query=interference (BR interferes with F2 attempting to retire R1)

 

http://wapc.mlb.com/play/?content_id=24245353&query=interference

 

 

Obstruction:

 

http://wapc.mlb.com/play/?content_id=15719819&query=obstruction (Rundown, runner obstructed by fielder)

 

http://wapc.mlb.com/play/?content_id=15844089&query=obstruction (F6 impedes R1 advancing to 3B)

 

http://wapc.mlb.com/play/?content_id=27112445&query=interference (BR obstructed reaching 1B)

 

Catchers Interference (technically obstruction - advance one base if forced)

 

http://wapc.mlb.com/play/?content_id=21527215&query=interference (BR strikes F2's glove when swinging)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

Interference:

 

http://wapc.mlb.com/play/?content_id=24892543&query=interference (BR interferes with F2 attempting to retire R1)

 

This one's an example of why I don't like a punch out mechanic that involves turning away from the ball. Watching that video it looks like PU turns for the punch out, F2 is interfered with by BR as he throws, points and claims the interference, then PU turns back and calls it. The jump forward by BR helps to make this an easier call, but I tend to think any time you look away, you're almost inviting something to happen. You don't call or make the wrong call, you'll get that manager asking questions. You make the right call, you'll get the other manager asking questions.

 

99 times out of 100 it won't be a problem. Maybe 9 out of 10 at lower level games. But why leave yourself open to that one time?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.