Register or Sign In to remove these ads
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Protest?

39 posts in this topic

Posted · Report post

The Angels are playing a game under protest...

BTW Thunderheads where are you at on this one?...

and what do you guys think about the ruling..look at rule 6.05k

http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=23594467&c_id=mlb

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads

Posted · Report post


  • In running the last half of the distance from home base to first base (yes)


  • while the ball is being fielded to first base (yes)


  • he runs outside (to the right of) the three-foot line, or inside (to the left of) the foul line (yes)


  • and in the umpire’s judgment in so doing interferes with the fielder taking the throw at first base (Not even close)

Good call.


Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

This rule is interpreted to say that if he is illegal the entire way to first base then he's not protected within a step of the base.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

When I see this again it was not a quality throw. In order to have runner's lane interference, the throw has to be a quality throw.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

I think I mentioned in a post somewhere else here. At the MLB level, just peg the runner, makes it clear he interferes with a quality throw if he is that inside the running lane.

As it was, not a quality throw.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

That's where he will lost the protest. Did the Angels lose the game?

Let's consider this...should the PU take a different position on a play like this b/c of the intervening play, PU has no angle to call runner's lane interference even if there had been interference.

For learning purposes, could he have taken the play 3BLX, then adjusted to watch the play on the batter/runner down at first base?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Yes, the Angles lost on a 10th inning walk off by Alex Rios. My Lieutenant made sure to rub it in this morning...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

When I see this again it was not a quality throw. In order to have runner's lane interference, the throw has to be a quality throw.

This was my first thought when I saw the video.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

What's up with Paul's necklaces?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

What's up with Paul's necklaces?

Yeah and the white tshirt when the other guys have black.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

What's up with Paul's necklaces?

Yeah and the white tshirt when the other guys have black.

That was my other comment in the other thread this is working in. I *HATE* those necklaces, and no one else has them on... Looks stupid, sorry.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Don't you know? Those necklaces regulate the "energy flow" and "electricity" in your body! So, when you are making decisions about INTs or EJs, these necklaces give you that extra "something" you need! It's all in the "Aqua Titanium" technology! Pick one up at your next tournament! (I've seen tables where they are on sale.)

But why settle for titanium? Go for Aqua Gold! You can get it in a lotion --- so you don't need those silly looking necklaces!

And you can trust these products to work --- this is a special "aqua" technology, not a snake "oil" technology.

(Wink wink. Which reminds me: where can I find the list of possible emoticons and how to enter them?)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

That's where he will lost the protest. Did the Angels lose the game?

Let's consider this...should the PU take a different position on a play like this b/c of the intervening play, PU has no angle to call runner's lane interference even if there had been interference.

For learning purposes, could he have taken the play 3BLX, then adjusted to watch the play on the batter/runner down at first base?

MLB and PBUC want us to take this play from 3blx where he was....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Kinda tough to argue the runner interfered with F3's ability to catch the throw when he caught the throw.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

MLB and PBUC want us to take this play from 3blx where he was....

I'm sure they do, but how do you get an angle for runner lane interference?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Under FED rules, this likely would have been an RLI violation.

Under OBR, protest denied.

No brainer.

JM

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Scioscia is misinterpreting the rule, while Barrett, Nauert & DeMuth know what they're talking about, something that should easily be supported by the League. Simply put, the RLI call under OBR requires interference with "the fielder taking the throw at first base." Konerko might have hindered catcher Iannetta's attempt, but Iannetta isn't protected by the RLI rule the way Pujols (1B) is. The "drilling the runner in the back" approach is generally a great way to generate this call if the runner is indeed illegally positioned, for the ball hitting the runner almost always (and very obviously) interferes with the fielder taking the throw at first base. And as hbk314 mentioned, the kicker is that Pujols caught the throw.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

This rule is interpreted to say that if he is illegal the entire way to first base then he's not protected within a step of the base.

True but completely irrelevant to the discussion and the play,

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

MLB and PBUC want us to take this play from 3blx where he was....

I'm sure they do, but how do you get an angle for runner lane interference?

Bend your head and look.. the runner crossing is more important... I know.. but 99% of the time F2 is gonna take the throw on the infield side and the is the best look at a pulled foot for the force.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

MLB and PBUC want us to take this play from 3blx where he was....

I'm sure they do, but how do you get an angle for runner lane interference?

Bend your head and look.. the runner crossing is more important... I know.. but 99% of the time F2 is gonna take the throw on the infield side and the is the best look at a pulled foot for the force.

What force?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Agree with treygawgmt, at this level C needed to stick the ball in the runners back.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

The Angels are playing a game under protest...

BTW Thunderheads where are you at on this one?...

and what do you guys think about the ruling..look at rule 6.05k

http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=23594467&c_id=mlb

??? What do you mean? You want MY thought on it?

I have nothing here ....

OR, are you asking me why I haven't posted it yet?

RE: The necklaces: Good Lord, please stop ......ESPECIALLYwhen they wear the jersey with NOTHING underneath!! YIKES! :shakehead:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

The Angels are playing a game under protest...

BTW Thunderheads where are you at on this one?...

and what do you guys think about the ruling..look at rule 6.05k

http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=23594467&c_id=mlb

??? What do you mean? You want MY thought on it?

I have nothing here ....

OR, are you asking me why I haven't posted it yet?

RE: The necklaces: Good Lord, please stop ......ESPECIALLYwhen they wear the jersey with NOTHING underneath!! YIKES! :shakehead:

He has a shirt on underneath, you just cant see it..and these guys are MLB guys.. "do as I say not as I do" is what Paul" told me at a clinic....

Yes Thunder you didnt post this..LOL

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

MLB and PBUC want us to take this play from 3blx where he was....

I'm sure they do, but how do you get an angle for runner lane interference?

Bend your head and look.. the runner crossing is more important... I know.. but 99% of the time F2 is gonna take the throw on the infield side and the is the best look at a pulled foot for the force.

What force?

The force at home! Did you watch the clip? The play went F5 to F2 to F3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

The Angels are playing a game under protest...

BTW Thunderheads where are you at on this one?...

and what do you guys think about the ruling..look at rule 6.05k

http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=23594467&c_id=mlb

??? What do you mean? You want MY thought on it?

I have nothing here ....

OR, are you asking me why I haven't posted it yet?

RE: The necklaces: Good Lord, please stop ......ESPECIALLYwhen they wear the jersey with NOTHING underneath!! YIKES! :shakehead:

He has a shirt on underneath, you just cant see it..and these guys are MLB guys.. "do as I say not as I do" is what Paul" told me at a clinic....

Yes Thunder you didnt post this..LOL

As many of you may think (appear to think) ......I'm not chained to this site to provide videos 24/7,..... sometimes others need to fill in .....so, ....nice job Haid! :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0