Register or Sign In to remove these ads
johnnyg08

Base award

8 posts in this topic

An umpire asked me this question last night. I think I over thought the answer but wanted to come here to make sure.

R1, pitcher throws over to F3 legally from the rubber and throws the ball away, R1 takes off for 2b and then 3b, as the ball rolls along the fence down the 1BL into shallow right field foul territory and as R1 is standing on 3b, the ball rolls through a hole in the bottom of the fence. There is no additional momentum from the original wild throw from F1

Do we bring R1 back to 2b since this is a one base award TOP?

Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads

Yep, and get ready for a pissed off coach. Even better, wait until the other F1 throws the ball out of play after stepping off and you give that runner 3rd base. :-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yep, and get ready for a pissed off coach. Even better, wait until the other F1 throws the ball out of play after stepping off and you give that runner 3rd base. :-)

True. I haven't met a coach yet, that understood that difference.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Time of throw. And yes, send him back

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now

  • Similar Content

    • Base awards
      By Thunderheads
      http://m.mlb.com/video/v36033449
       
    • Engage/Disengage? Base Award
      By johnnyg08
      R2, R3.  Pitcher forgets that R1 stole 2b the previous pitch.  
       
      He comes set, then all in one motion he steps back and feints to 1B where there's nobody. 
       
      Legal, Illegal?
       
      Same situation, except throws it out of play.  Place the runners.