Register or Sign In to remove these ads
14 posts in this topic
This one is probably pretty infamous around discussions between umpires, so most of you probably know it by heart, but here's the video anyway:
My father was an umpire, so I've always had a good handle on the rules and basic umpiring stuff, but it wasn't until I started calling games myself that I've begun to take notice of the really finer points: mechanics, timing and advanced positioning.. Those kinds of things.
I've been watching a lot of famous plays to see how these things were handled by the respective umpires. This one had me a bit confused.
But not for anything to do with what occurred at 3rd base...
My understanding (and I could be wrong, causing myself the confusion) is that on an obstruction call, the umpire making the call indicates that obstruction happened but that as a play moves to another base and another umpire, that 2nd umpire has to first rule on what he saw at his base, then factor in the results of the obstruction.
So looking at this play again, shouldn't the PU have called the runner out on the tag and THEN awarded the run on the obstruction call? Unless I'm missing something, he seems to have noticed the obstruction call by the 3U and called the play safe based on that.
Whats the proper way to call this? If he did this correctly, I'm pretty shocked as I can imagine any number of things can go south quickly.
Also, I know that the results of an obstruction call is at the umpires discretion on what would have happened had the obstruction not occurred, but on this play, which umpire decides that?
Some of the leagues that I umpire for play under MLB rules. I know in federation, coaches are allowed one offensive conference per inning... What is the rule on that for MLB? You see all of these MLB players talking with their 3rd base coach halfway up the line so often and the umpires never say anything.
I was watching the Giants-A's game tonight and they were talking about a balk that was called in last night's game that they didn't understand. Dave Flemming recounted his discussion with Bill Miller before the game and said that it was a point of emphasis this year.
I can't find a video online about it. Chris Bassitt is in the stretch, foot on rubber. Brings his hands together. Then, he steps back with his front foot (Lefty, he moved it towards 3B), then delivers the pitch. It's almost like he goes into a windup after he's come set.
Here's a video with Price, but he moves it forward, then goes into his delivery.
I can't recall ever seeing a pitcher do this in MLB.
Majestic short sleeve black 2XL shirt with MLB logo $65 — Phoenix, Arizona One (1) Short sleeve, black. Authentic MLB umpire shirt. Size 2XL
Price $65.00 PLUS shipping (7.88 anywhere in USA)
PayPal only at firstname.lastname@example.org
See pics for viewing inspection. email me for faster response email@example.com