Balk?

12 posts in this topic

Posted · Report post

I am relatively new to this and was working a game this past Sunday.I thought I made this call right but now not sure because I haven't been able to find a reference in the FED rule book. Sit: Ri and R2, F1 goes into stretch with the ball, while straddling the rubber. Then, while still straddling the rubber comes into a set position. I balked him advanced the runners one base. After discussion with the DEF coach about wether it was a balk or not my partner ended up overruling me. This of course ticked me off to no end but that's a different story. Can anyone help me out? Is it a balk, and why?

Posted · Report post

BALK. 6-2-5

1 person likes this

Posted · Report post

Thank you sir. I appreciate the help

Posted · Report post

Here is what Stephen posted for you:

ART. 5 . . . It is also a balk if a runner or runners are on base and the pitcher, while he is not touching the pitcher’s plate, makes any movement naturally associated with his pitch, or he places his feet on or astride the pitcher’s plate, or positions himself within approximately five feet of the pitcher’s plate without having the ball.

Your partner is an idiot.

1 person likes this

Posted · Report post

Your partner is an idiot.

Dang right.

1 person likes this

Posted · Report post

Why did you let your partner overrule you? What did he say that was so convincing?

Posted · Report post

Remember 10-1-4, your partner cannot overrule you. He can provide information once you ask him to do so, and you then can change your call.

Posted · Report post

Unfortunately once he does it you can't really un-do it. He makes you look bad, if you try to stick with your call you have an argument on the field and look worse.