Register or Sign In to remove these ads

It is optional for the base umpire to carry an indicator if the field has a scoreboard

57 posts in this topic

Posted · Report post

FED

120. It is optional for the base umpire to carry an indicator if the field has a scoreboard.

a. True b. False

Appreciate the opinions, however, I am looking for the correct answer for a FED test.

Can't find anything in the book.

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register or Sign In to remove these ads

Posted · Report post

FED

120. It is optional for the base umpire to carry an indicator if the field has a scoreboard.

a. True b. False

Appreciate the opinions, however, I am looking for the correct answer for a FED test.

Can't find anything in the book.

Thanks!

Since it is not a requirement for the BU to carry an indicator, I would say TRUE regardless of the scoreboard issue.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

The FED manual only mentions the PU having an indicator but there is no option with regard to scoreboard.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

WTF??? Really???

I don't have a book but I'd say true because I believe it would always be optional regardless of the scoreboard situation.

I've got to look and see when Virginia's & North Carolina's testing windows are....

I've never made a 100 but last year I got a 99 and with stupid questions like that they are going to get you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

I havent carried one on the bases in several years. I would say that it IS optional for the base umpire to carry one... plate, not so much.

Plus, how often does a HS have an accurate scoreboard or if it is accurate, there are lights missing/out that make it look bad.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

If you are in Calif. ..... CIF-SS ... the answer is false.... It is not optional.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

I hope that eventually, FED has this question:

"Paper is better used for wiping your ass than for an NFHS rules test."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

I know I'm going to catch hell for this (I can't believe I'm admitting it to you guys). I don't use a indictor when working the stick. I bring one with me but it stays in my pocket the whole time. I know it's sounds kind of crazy but I loss the count more often when I try to use one. I probably haven't used a indictor in four or five seasons and I can only think of one time that it got me in trouble. I'm not saying that I haven't lost the count a time or two but normally the Gods have the kid ground out for me so nothing ever comes of it. Anyhow, everybody can act appalled now, I'm just curious as to anybody else like me? Kev, what do you think?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

There's nothing wrong with not using one, I know several really good guys who don't.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Yeah, I know some really good umpires that don't use one either. Those are the guys that told me it was OK. Seven or Eight years ago I would have never even considered it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

We don't have to use one.... But... We are required to carry one ....

For purposes of the test... The answer is false...it is not optional.

What one does in practice... Well that's another matter.....lol

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

If you are in Calif. ..... CIF-SS ... the answer is false.... It is not optional.

citation?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

This is precisely what we were told by our instructional chair at the study guide review session.

I do not have a citation.

I can tell you that I got the answer correct when I did the study guide online.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

I know I'm going to catch hell for this (I can't believe I'm admitting it to you guys). I don't use a indictor when working the stick. I bring one with me but it stays in my pocket the whole time. I know it's sounds kind of crazy but I loss the count more often when I try to use one. I probably haven't used a indictor in four or five seasons and I can only think of one time that it got me in trouble. I'm not saying that I haven't lost the count a time or two but normally the Gods have the kid ground out for me so nothing ever comes of it. Anyhow, everybody can act appalled now, I'm just curious as to anybody else like me? Kev, what do you think?

We have a fine umpire up this way (has worked extended spring training when he lived in AZ) who does the same thing. He has one just to show coaches and such that he DOES in fact carry one. But he doesnt use it... as far as I know.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

We don't have to use one.... But... We are required to carry one ....

For purposes of the test... The answer is false...it is not optional.

What one does in practice... Well that's another matter.....lol

Where did you see this?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

I have read many posts about BUs not carrying indicators. Quite frankly, I don't care if my partner is not carrying one. But I had a situation last year where I was PU and lost the count after a series of events (including taking a foul ball off the mask). The coach wanted the count, and I was unsure so I went to my partner who was clueless. He didn't feel it was his job to know the count. He definitely didn't have my back that day. So if you're not going to carry an indicator, at least keep your head in the game.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Our instructional chair told us this emphatically...he is not a big fan of an indicator on the bases but, for purposes of compliance ( and the exam) told us that we are required to carry one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Our instructional chair told us this emphatically...he is not a big fan of an indicator on the bases but, for purposes of compliance ( and the exam) told us that we are required to carry one.

Do you have a Rule Citation?

Maybe it is just a California thing.

No way will I answer False if I get this question. Unless I see the rule which no one has found yet.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Our instructional chair told us this emphatically...he is not a big fan of an indicator on the bases but, for purposes of compliance ( and the exam) told us that we are required to carry one.

Do you have a Rule Citation?

Maybe it is just a California thing.

No way will I answer False if I get this question. Unless I see the rule which no one has found yet.

It's in the FED manual. The way the books are online I can't copy and paste, but it is there.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Our instructional chair told us this emphatically...he is not a big fan of an indicator on the bases but, for purposes of compliance ( and the exam) told us that we are required to carry one.

Do you have a Rule Citation?

Maybe it is just a California thing.

No way will I answer False if I get this question. Unless I see the rule which no one has found yet.

It's in the FED manual. The way the books are online I can't copy and paste, but it is there.

Mike,

I did a seacrh of the word indicator and the only place it came up was under PU, like someone previosly said.

Maybe if I search for clicker? :smachhead:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Our instructional chair told us this emphatically...he is not a big fan of an indicator on the bases but, for purposes of compliance ( and the exam) told us that we are required to carry one.

Do you have a Rule Citation?

Maybe it is just a California thing.

No way will I answer False if I get this question. Unless I see the rule which no one has found yet.

It's in the FED manual. The way the books are online I can't copy and paste, but it is there.

Mike,

I did a seacrh of the word indicator and the only place it came up was under PU, like someone previosly said.

Maybe if I search for clicker? :smachhead:

rth is actually on the right track to get this question correct on the test.

The ICs are given the answers. If his IC says it is so, then it is so.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Our instructional chair told us this emphatically...he is not a big fan of an indicator on the bases but, for purposes of compliance ( and the exam) told us that we are required to carry one.

Do you have a Rule Citation?

Maybe it is just a California thing.

No way will I answer False if I get this question. Unless I see the rule which no one has found yet.

It's in the FED manual. The way the books are online I can't copy and paste, but it is there.

I found on page 7 of the FED manual where is says the Plate Umpires needs to have an Indicator but can't find anything on the base umpire.

Do you have a page number?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

I would say if you are a new or young umpire that you should carry one no matter what position you are in. As you get more experience then you can forget about carrying one on the bases.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

I would say if you are a new or young umpire that you should carry one no matter what position you are in. As you get more experience then you can forget about carrying one on the bases.

I agree but we are trying to answer a FED test question.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

I thought we already did. Thats why I posted my comment.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now