Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'world series'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Umpire-Empire
    • Introductions
    • Ask the Umpire
    • Minor League Baseball Umpire Training Academy
    • Umpire-Empire
    • The Michael Taylor Member of the Month Award
    • Memberships
    • Announcements & Milestones
    • Buy, Sell or Trade
  • Speak out
    • Free For All
    • Situations
    • Umpire Mechanics
    • Rules
    • Ejections
    • Umpire Equipment
    • Books
    • War Stories
  • Umpire News
    • Close Call Sports/ Umpire Ejection Fantasy League
    • Umpire News From Around the Web
    • Ump-Attire.com
  • Level of Play
    • High School
    • Collegiate
    • Recreation
    • Professional
    • Softball
    • Cooperstown Dream Park
  • Off-Topic
    • Off-Topic/Funny Stories
    • Photography
    • Humor
    • Other Sports
    • Announcers

Categories

  • Interviews
  • Equipment
  • Game Management
  • Self Improvement
  • Health & Fitness
  • Miscellaneous
  • Get to Know

Categories

  • Equipment
    • Chest Protectors
    • Hockey Style Masks
    • Traditional Masks
    • Plate Shoes
    • Base Shoes
    • Shin Guards
    • Athletic Cups
    • Mask Pads
    • Other Equipment
  • Umpire Accessories
    • Equipment Bags
    • Indicators
    • Ball Bags
    • Line up card holders
    • Sunglasses
    • Other Accessories
  • Uniforms
    • Umpire Shirts
    • Umpire Pants
    • Undergarmets
    • Umpire Jackets/ Plate Coats
    • Umpire Caps
  • Suppliers
  • Umpire Manuals, Rules/Interpretation Manuals, Mechanics Manuals
  • Umpire Camps & Clinics
  • Books (pleasure reading)
  • Products no longer available for retail sale

Marker Groups

  • Members

Skype


Location


Interests


Your Association Name


Occupation


Types/Levels of Baseball called

Found 10 results

  1. This one is probably pretty infamous around discussions between umpires, so most of you probably know it by heart, but here's the video anyway: My father was an umpire, so I've always had a good handle on the rules and basic umpiring stuff, but it wasn't until I started calling games myself that I've begun to take notice of the really finer points: mechanics, timing and advanced positioning.. Those kinds of things. I've been watching a lot of famous plays to see how these things were handled by the respective umpires. This one had me a bit confused. But not for anything to do with what occurred at 3rd base... My understanding (and I could be wrong, causing myself the confusion) is that on an obstruction call, the umpire making the call indicates that obstruction happened but that as a play moves to another base and another umpire, that 2nd umpire has to first rule on what he saw at his base, then factor in the results of the obstruction. So looking at this play again, shouldn't the PU have called the runner out on the tag and THEN awarded the run on the obstruction call? Unless I'm missing something, he seems to have noticed the obstruction call by the 3U and called the play safe based on that. Whats the proper way to call this? If he did this correctly, I'm pretty shocked as I can imagine any number of things can go south quickly. Also, I know that the results of an obstruction call is at the umpires discretion on what would have happened had the obstruction not occurred, but on this play, which umpire decides that?
  2. Was that a foul ball?

    I'm watching the game and that fly towards the backstop is hit. Rizzo bounces it off of his hand then off of his glove and catches it. Isn't that supposed to be foul?
  3. East Texas Umpire Clinic / Camp

    The 6th Annual East Texas Umpire Clinic is coming Jan 27-29. Learn from a 2016 World Series Umpire!!! Marvin Hudson is on our staff and will be here again in 2017. Only $115 right now for Fri-Sun - check out www.umpireclinics.com for all the details. Don't miss an incredible opportunity to learn from incredible instructors at the top of their game to help you better your game. Questions email me - umpireclinics@gmail.com Brian Chinn
  4. World Series - Game 2

    Ok, .... please read carefully and hear me out .... I'm a HS umpire and that's all I'll ever be, partly because that's what I enjoy and that's my inspiration. I don't have the time or schedule to do College ball, so what I do I'm perfectly happy with. And, to add .... I do a decent job. Now, ... I'll NEVER be at the level of the guys on the field right now, and 99.9999999% of all of us on the site won't either, however. IF I ever got to do a game at the level of a plate in the world series, I certainly wouldn't have my hands in my pockets most of the night. I feel Guccione did a fine job last night, no doubt, and he probably accomplished a dream last night by doing his first World Series plate job. But, did anyone else notice this? I know it was pretty 'raw' in Cleveland last night but would gloves be a good alternative? I just think the hands in pockets thing looks as if you don't care. Am I off base here, or was this noticed by anyone else? Again, I'm not bashing Guccione per-say, but how does that 'look' to others? Make sense? I posted something similar on Facebook and you'd think that I called Guccione's mother a nasty name! Geez Anyhow, thoughts?
  5. Shinguard Pine Tar - Salvador Perez

    This is being discussed on a Facebook umpire forum ...... http://nypost.com/2015/10/28/royals-catchers-mystery-shinguard-substance-raises-questions/ http://espn.go.com/mlb/story/_/id/13995085/2015-world-series-terry-collins-ned-yost-defend-kansas-city-royals-catcher-salvador-perez-use-pine-tar-shin-guard http://www.newsday.com/sports/baseball/substance-on-royals-c-salvador-perez-s-shinguard-is-legal-1.11023749
  6. Winning pitcher?

    First off, congrats to the Giants and Bumgardner. Not to be a killjoy, but how does he get a win when Affeldt was not a starter, and Affeldt was in the game when the Giants took the lead, and was effective? (a) The official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher that pitcher whose team assumes a lead while such pitcher is in the game, or during the inning on offense in which such pitcher is removed from the game, and does not relinquish such lead, unless (1) such pitcher is a starting pitcher and Rule 10.17(b) applies; or (2) Rule 10.17© applies. 17(b) doesn't apply. That's about a starting pitcher who doesn't go 5 and leaves with his team leading. 17© doesn't apply either. That's says another reliever can get the win when the reliever in the game at the time his team took the lead was ineffective. Not true in Affeldt's case.
  7. Hunter yucking it up before game 5!

    http://m.mlb.com/video/topic/63106348/v36865909
  8. The World Series Crew for 2014

    There it is ..........  congrats to all!   http://www.foxsports.com/mlb/story/ap-source-4-umpires-get-1st-world-series-call-101714
  9. Epic Fail - SAD

    What a dumba$$ http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H4WOCSs8Skg&feature=player_embedded
  10. Demuth calls out ruling the ball dropped on the exchange. Red Sox argue. Crew gets together and votes, apparently. Changes the call to safe. They got the call right in the end. What do you think?
×