Register or Sign In to remove these ads
Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'question'.
Found 2 results
Hello, A couple days ago I was doing a Senior game (~17 years old) with one other Umpire (I was the BU). At one point a runner (the only one on at the time) got caught in a rundown between 2nd and 3rd. I was following the runner between the two bases because the PU was still at home. At one point F5 threw to F6 which caused the runner to be between myself and F6 who reached out to tag the runner. From my perspective I didn't see the actual tag but I from what I saw it looked like the tag must have touched the runner. I called the Out but the play continued with neither the runner nor the fielders seeming to hear me or think the tag had applied. After repeating the call a couple times the play ended and the runner asked me "Am I allowed to argue that call, Blue?" Was I right to make that call? EDIT: If so/not how sure do I have to be to make the call? How can I position myself in the future to avoid that?
So I had a situation with my partner yesterday. 2man system, runner at first, 18+ league. I am PU. Ball was hit to outfield, I had the runner rounding third and coming home. He missed third on his way. When the ball was sent back to the pitcher, he threw the ball to his third baseman who was standing on third saying they want to appeal. I called the runner out, and the run doesn't score. At the end of the inning, my partner was talking to the pitcher and third baseman on "how to do a proper appeal". He said that the pitcher had to be on the rubber, come set, step off, then make the throw, so the appeal they did wasn't valid and should not have been granted. I said that that doesn't fit with my memory on how to do an appeal properly, my partner has been umpiring for around 30+ years, so I trust him, and two) if the appeal should not be granted, why didn't he come to me and say that so I wouldn't call a runner out and take a run off the board. I have two questions: 1) If the ball is not dead, does the pitcher need to be on the rubber then step off to initiate an appeal? I thought he had to be on the rubber just to make the ball live so he could step off and make the throw. 2) Should/would you approach me if you believe that I granted an illegal appeal, or would you let the call stand and basically tell the players that they did it wrong?