Register or Sign In to remove these ads

conbo61

Premium Members
  • Content count

    1,176
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    8

conbo61 last won the day on March 9

conbo61 had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

521 Good

1 Follower

About conbo61

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Bethlehem, PA

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    BUA, PIAA
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?

Recent Profile Visitors

7,435 profile views
  1. I think Kevin's link answers this on page 33. 1. A batted ball bounces up to hit the batter or his bat after he swings at it. Ruling: This is a foul ball unless he was obviously out of the batter's box when the contact occurred. While the other codes Kevin cites clearly define this situation, in Little League it appears to be an interpretation as it is not found in the rule book. Drop the phrase "By interpretation..." on the agitated coach and then take a step or two back as I would be willing to bet his head is about to explode.
  2. That is no guarantee.... http://www.uni-watch.com/2006/07/19/and-they-lost-their-seeing-eye-dogs-too/
  3. WOW!!! You must have REALLY pissed off your assigner.
  4. 85 today in eastern PA...
  5. I line my nose up with the inside corner and then take a half step more inside. Adjust accordingly. CB was right in the BRIGHT yellow zone.
  6. Its a full body pain...
  7. Hot Dog Johnny's?
  8. Using the catcher is always a good way to go. I am also a believer that the line up card is your friend. I will call the coach over, take out the card and point nonsensically at it while informing him that his pitcher needs to be calibrated. I have found that coaches appreciate this approach as it is subtle and does not put anyone "on the spot" but the point has been made.
  9. I'll echo @KenBAZ until this site went down, I did not fully recognize how much visiting U-E is a part of my day. Whatever the issue (sql, sunspots, gremlins with their di-a-bo-lyical sab-o-tay-geee), I am just glad you are back up. Thanks again for your dedication.
  10. Takes a big man to admit it...
  11. I was certain of this. If it was his intention to field the ball, he would have stopped on the fair side of the line and waited for it to come back. He was flying across the line and dipping his glove to get the touch to kill it. No need to move that fast across the base line to field, what was at that time, a foul ball.
  12. The standard for the play I am attempting to describe is somewhat lower as the pitcher only needs to touch the ball to kill it. If he touches the ball in foul territory, there is no more play therefore there can be no hindrance. My question is if the DC would have a case to state that the collision/interference prevented his player from ensuring that the ball remained foul.
  13. CB had a rough couple of days. http://www.closecallsports.com/2017/04/mlb-ejection-006-cb-bucknor-1-scott.html
  14. Just to clarify, you mean the status of the ground ball. If F3 is fielding a pop on the line that is slightly foul and is hindered by the B/R, you still have an out.
  15. Now this doesn't appear to be consistent with @MidAmUmp. As noted, I am understanding that the INT protection is only in effect if the hindrance prevents the possibility of getting an out. In this case, F1 was not attempting to get an out, but essentially create a dead ball situation. I agree that if the ball then rolled fair we could not reasonably call a retroactive INT. Apologies if I am not understanding here. I am not trying to be a problem child, just get better.