Register or Sign In to remove these ads

MidAmUmp

Partners
  • Content count

    1,250
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

1,629 Excellent

5 Followers

About MidAmUmp

  • Birthday 09/29/1976

Contact Methods

  • Website URL
    http://www.midamericanumpireclinic.com/home.html

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Aurora, MO

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    CBUA, MAU
  • Occupation
    Graphic Designer
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    NCAA D1
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    ABUA (umpire.org)

Recent Profile Visitors

10,227 profile views
  1. I had mine powder coated without issue. The issue I had with the magnesium mask was the coating would wear off. The only thing I could think that would cause it was chemicals in my sun block. By the end of the summer I would have several spots where the black coating wore off, so I had it powder coated a gun metal gray and it did the same thing. I don't wear it anymore and it's sitting in my closet, but it was a great mask and amazingly lightweight.
  2. It's not a play that gets pregamed, but the reasons for rotating should be and this situation should be covered. Basically in my pregame I say we will rotate if a ball is hit to the outfield. We will not rotate if a ball is thrown to the outfield. U1 has 2 options - 1. Go with the overthrow only if there is trouble down the right field line ie: tarp, an occupied bullpen, unseen area from the plate, no fence, or lined dead ball area. 2. Take responsibility for the B/R. I'd be careful rimming this play with a potential throw coming from right field directly to 2nd base. Personally as U1 I would get my angle which on this play would be close to the baseline between 1st and 2nd. Once the ball is overthrown I would enter the infield and mirror the B/R.
  3. "All in one motion, the catcher receives the ball and uses his body to block the plate." This is a direct quote from Tom Hiler in the video released earlier this week. It shouldn't be this confusing. In the video posted here, the catcher moves into the baseline to field the throw. The runner has not yet reached the dirt circle. 8-2-h Note says "The base line belongs to the runner and the catcher should be there only when he is fielding the ball or when he already has the ball in his hand. If a fielder is about to receive a thrown ball and if the ball is in flight toward and near enough to the fielder so he must occupy his position to receive the ball, he may be considered “in the act of fielding”" This is what we have in the video posted. Near enough to the fielder is defined as the last 60 feet to home plate. Yes, the rule note also states that it's entirely umpire judgment if the catcher is in the act of fielding. Much like the discussion in the College forum about the legality of the pitcher's glove...if you are going to say the catcher didn't have to go to that spot to field the throw...you're not using very good judgment and a supervisor would have a hard time supporting you. Since the catcher is in the act of fielding he is not guilty of obstruction. Since the runner has not yet reached the dirt circle he must slide legally or give himself up. He does appear to slide legally with a leg and buttock on the ground prior to making contact with the catcher...so he is also legal. Those two things happening mean the contact between the runner and catcher is legal. That means we must have something extra occur to have a penalty. The catcher catching, dropping, immediately recovering the ball, and tagging the runner...or bobbling, never having possession, and picking up the ball and applying a tag is simply a baseball play...much like we continue to protect a fielder when he's within a step and a reach of a batted ball that's been booted. Had the ball not been within his immediate reach and he had to move to get the loose ball then he would be at risk of committing obstruction had his attempt to get the ball prevented the runner from scoring.
  4. I've got nothing on this. It's not obstruction. The NCAA released the act of fielding/play at the plate video earlier this week (the 3rd base umpire is a good looking guy, by the way) and they said if the ball is within the final 60' the catcher is considered in the act of fielding. In the NCAA video the catcher caught the ball and blocked the plate in one motion. In this video the catcher has to move to catch the ball...he is legal. The runner had not entered the dirt circle at that point. So he must slide legally or avoid contact. He appears to have slid legally. The catcher drops the ball and almost immediately picks it up and tags the runner before the runner touches the plate. Runner out, inning over. Mechanically, I'd like to see the umpire continue to move to his right and end up in fair territory.
  5. Do you belong to an association or work directly for an individual assigner? An association If an association, how often do they meet? We have 1 mandatory general membership meeting each year. We have 4 training sessions for new recruits. Do they provide training? Yes - training sessions for new recruits. We also have the www.midamericanumpireclinic.com in Springfield each fall...not mandatory but we usually have 8-10 members attend each year. Do they have an evaluation process? Yes. Each umpire is supposed to evaluate their partner each night. Evaluation form is on our website. Most comply, those who don't typically see a reduction in assignments. How long are your meetings? General membership meeting this year took 4 hours, but was in depth with videos and 3 guest speakers...we weren't talking association procedures and reading from a rule book. Training sessions usually last 2 hours. What is the average attendance? General membership meeting is mandatory. Usual attendance is 75-80%...attendance is taken and those who don't attend also see a reduction in assignments (baring legitimate excused absences). Do they have multi-year contracts with leagues or is it year to year? Everything is a handshake agreement. No contracts. If they think we do a good job, they stay with us. If they're not happy, they'll find someone else. Do they have a website and would you be willing to provide a link? www.midamericaumpires.weebly.com
  6. No they're not. It's pretty hard to have a foul ball if the batter has his bat on his shoulder so if someone thinks they hear "Foul!" they shouldn't be on a baseball field...or play with sharp objects, for that matter. We don't umpire to them. Sell the ball call with a voice that equals the closeness of the pitch...from very little voice on an obvious ball, to "BALL!" on a borderline pitch. Just like selling a play on the bases.
  7. Umpires need to have a grasp of their surroundings and a feel for the game. I think that might be called having some instincts You should be able to see the runner going or at least figure it out by LISTENING. In a situation where it is not necessary for the catcher to throw the ball, the catcher needs a quicker/louder call.
  8. I saw a brief clip of it on the Pac12 Network last night. It's weird. Too many pitching coaches with too much time on their hands. Every pitcher for the team I had last weekend had some quirky delivery. They got swept. Figure it out.
  9. Do you have video of it?
  10. The 1B is still entitled to have an opportunity to catch a throw. The fact the throw is errant is irrelevant. It is no different than the catcher moving into the baseline to catch an errant throw at the plate. His opportunity ends once his feet touch the ground and he doesn't have the ball. At that point he is at risk of causing obstruction. I'm going to be real honest, in real time without replay and all of that, I would have obstruction on this play. I'm just not that good to recognize if his feet were touching the ground or not...it's that close. I agree with penalizing the defense because they screwed up, but the penalization should come once he has landed without the ball...at that point you could have obstruction. I would still allow an initial bump and go. Anything past that would be obstruction. I'm sure Fed is different but at some point you have to umpire with common sense and fair play. And common sense should dictate a fielder cannot cause obstruction when he's in the act of catching a throw unless he's doing something intentional and egregious.
  11. Good for you
  12. I'm not certain 8.3.2K is the exact play...it states a wide throw and the fielder lunging toward the ball and making contact with B/R. In our video, the 1B has jumped, not lunged, and technically B/R has made contact with 1B before 1B has landed. I'm sure in NFHS's infinite stupidity and mission to wrap each player in bubble wrap, they would declare this obstruction. Personally, I would agree that a fielder lunging after a wide throw and knocking B/R to the ground could be obstruction. I just have a real problem with penalizing 1B when he does not have an opportunity to avoid contact because he's still in the air.
  13. I think I answered your question as you were posting this so see above. The only thing I'll say in reference to the Fed rule is you guys are getting sucked into calling something because contact occurred. Contact can happen in a baseball game and be ruled "nothing". Common sense would dictate that a fielder who has to leave the ground to attempt to catch a thrown ball cannot be expected to immediately disappear when he doesn't catch the ball. Unless he's Michael Jordan or David Copperfield, he has to be allowed to return to earth before disappearing.
  14. You're comparing apples and oranges. A diving fielder cannot be in the act of fielding if he continues to lay on the ground after the batted ball passes him. This was a thrown ball which the fielder had to jump to attempt to catch. The collision occurs before he lands, thereby making him still being in the act of catching. He can't disappear when he's still in the air. If the collision occurred after he landed, then it could be considered obstruction.
  15. I'll start by saying I believe this play occurred before replay at the MLB level. I could be wrong, but I think that's correct. We have the opportunity to watch this play several times from different angles and in slow motion...they did not. That said, just last week this video was discussed by several umpires who work in one of the BCS conferences. The consensus among them and their supervisor is this is not obstruction...and I agree with them. The collision occurs as the 1st baseman is still in the act of fielding. He jumped up to catch the throw and when the B/R collides with him, he's still airborne. This is just a train wreck.