Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads

noumpere

Members
  • Content count

    8,295
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    86

Everything posted by noumpere

  1. Out or lodged ball?

    You are correct -- if it had been accurately judged. Award the "value" of the hit, but no outs -- so here, BR to first (and any other runners advance if forced).
  2. Scoring Question

    Time at bat, no hit (probably). You can get the baseball rules, which include scoring, by using the googler. Here's an excerpt: (b) The official scorer shall not credit a base hit when a: (5) is called out for interference with a fielder attempting to field a batted ball, unless in the scorer’s judgment the bat- ter-runner would have been safe had the interference not occurred.
  3. Interesting Time Play

    There's more than one third-base coach?
  4. Interesting Time Play

    It was shown on the TV replay. R2 (?) was about in the batter's box when the tag was made. Wasn't really that close (at least for umpires). The runner could have made it, but he slowed down and turned his head to watch the play at third.
  5. Retirement? Sale

    I copied some of this from the "equipment" forum. I'm not yet quite sure what, if any, I want to sell -- I'm having trouble coming to grips with the fact that I might need to retire. So, make an offer or ask questions (I'm out for a bit, so I'm lacking some details below and won't be able to answer specifics unless I can get someone at home to check): WestVest Platinum with Team Wendy Pad Upgrade -- . I had it retrofitted before last season. Wore it one month (the cool / cold month of April) before I got hurt and was out for the season. Wore it this May (also mostly cool) before I got hurt and am done for the season. I think the fates are trying to tell me something. Douglass Chest Protector -- Original, Unworn. I forget the exact length, but I can measure. I ordered it when they were having their "going out of business" sale a few years ago. Plate and Base Shoes -- New Balance. Whatever the model was a couple of years ago. Not worn much (see the WV Platinum). Size 9.5, I think -- maybe 10. Wilson Mask with Team Wendy Pads -- Pads upgraded two years ago Wilson Shin Guards -- I forget the model, but they are gray with the hard ankle protectors. These are a bit worn. Honig's Poly Wools -- Very good shape -- probably worn about 10 times each. (I think I read where they recently changed the style / manufacturer -- these are the original version) Two plates, two bases. 34" waist. I wear a 32" inseam in "street" pants. Smitty Pants -- Plate and bases. Worn much more than the Honigs, but in good shape. Adjustable waist. Multiple pairs of each. Outer Shirts -- Black, Polo, Navy. L and XL. One long sleeve Navy. All the Navy has state patch on the shoulder (you can take it off). Multiple MFG (Official choice, honig's, mostly), One Cliff Keen, I think. One might have a number 23 on the sleeve. Under Shirts -- Navy, Red, White, Black. McDavid or similar. Some crew neck; some mock turtle neck. Assorted black and navy ball bags, indicators, brushes, etc.
  6. Does the runner go back?

    Yes.
  7. Ball Hitting Top of Wall, Deflected Out by Fielder

    Here's a FED case. I think the same applies in OBR. 8.3.3 SITUATION H: B1 hits a long fly ball to left field. F7 goes back to the fence, leaps, but is not able to touch the fly ball. The ball then rebounds off the fence, strikes the fielder's glove and ricochets over the fence in fair territory. Is this a home run or ground-rule double? RULING: This would be considered a ground-rule double. To be a home run, the ball must clear the fence in flight. Action secondary to the hit (ball ricocheting off the fence and then off the fielder's glove) caused the ball to go into dead-ball area. Therefore, the hit shall be ruled a ground-rule double.
  8. Ball Hitting Top of Wall, Deflected Out by Fielder

    I think this should have been a two-base award. Did they not review it?
  9. catch/lodged ball?

    Same for NCAA. It's kind of like spectator interference -- the umpire places the runners based on where they would have been had it not occurred (the difference, of course, is that you could get an out under spectator interference). In FED, it's an automatic 2-base award. Here are the relevant rules: NCAA: 8-3.l. If a fair batted or thrown ball becomes lodged in a player’s uniform, the ball shall be declared dead and bases awarded at the umpire’s discretion; FED: 8-3-3c. two bases if a fair batted or thrown ball becomes dead because of bouncing over or passing through a fence, or lodges in a defensive player's or umpire's equipment or uniform
  10. catch/lodged ball?

    I think FED has a case / interp where the ball is stuck for a while, Fx takes off his glove and then is able to get the ball. The ruling is that the ball was "temporarily stuck" and not "lodged" -- no awards. It becomes an award then the glove is thrown with the ball still inside it. I have often thought that if this is how they want to rule this, then they should just call it displaced equipment.
  11. First Throw By An Infielder When Ball Goes Out of Play

    If that was taken literally, we'd almost never have a TOP award. The infield is defined as the 90' square -- and almost all "infielders' play behind it. Someone has a definition to the effect of "if the player could reasonably make an out at first base, he's an infielder." That's about as good as we're going to get on these types of defintions -- at least until something blows up in the playoffs in MLB and they are forced to come up with a better definition (or formalize that one).
  12. Insurance null and void IF?

    Most policies can be summarized as: We Cover EVERYTHING!* * -- except what actually happens
  13. Insurance null and void IF?

    NASO used to cover more than some of the other insurances. For example, 1 and 4 above would be covered (iirc, of course). I do agree that the best course would be ot read the policies and / or to talk to the companies involved, rather than asking us mopes for our unenlightened opinions.
  14. unpire.org blocked as dangerous

    It's also blocked by malwarebytes and firefox
  15. unpire.org blocked as dangerous

    Yes.
  16. Thrown ball goes into the stands

    And, once he advances to and touches second, he cannot (legally) go back and touch first. Even if he physically does this, he is still subject to being out on appeal.
  17. Question About Foul Tip on Strike Three (Ball Bounces)

    Most of your questions are pretty good. So, I'm surprised that you can think that a batted ball that hits the ground could be considered as going "direct"(ly) to the mitt.
  18. Absent the INT, would there have been a double play? In your pop-up scenario -- no. BR would be out and R1 would return to first. Since there was INT, change that to R1 is out and BR is awarded first. Note that if this was an Infield Fly situation, that the BR is out on the infield fly, AND R1 is out for the INT. (FED has a different standard for getting two outs here -- but it still wouldn't apply on the pop-up situation.)
  19. Runner Interference?

    It's different because of this part of the OP: Runner, while backing up toward 1st, puts hands up as to catch the ball, then pulls them back without contacting the ball.
  20. Runner Interference?

    Assuming the throw was reasonably directly to F3, and not in the dirt or well over F3's head, I'm at least 100% sure that R1 interfered in this situation.
  21. With runners on base, BU has all fly balls until PU calls him off. That won't happen if the ball is in the V
  22. Site Upgrade

    Maybe yuo can fix it so every post doesn't have the "sent from tapatalk" signature -- or just remind the users to change it on their end.
  23. appeal play

    The run counts whether the code allows dead ball appeals or not -- and that was the question. Now, if the question was "is R2 out?" ...
  24. Game winning home run

    Yes -- based on the actions of the defense and not just on the declaration of the umpire. It was also 109 years ago, and rules / interps change.
×