Register or Sign In to remove these ads

noumpere

Members
  • Content count

    8,223
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    85

noumpere last won the day on July 2

noumpere had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

2,398 Excellent

About noumpere

  1. IF you were being sarcastic / literal -- I agree (I almost posted the same thing because of that). But, given the section we are in, and how I read the post in it's entirety, I think it's more likely that Maven's interp is correct -- the OP meant "fair" and "foul" and not "in bounds" and "out of bounds."
  2. Likely. First, I don't see that the ball has become dead. Second, even if it was, R2 was still between second and third, so he would return to second -- R1 can't stay there. Third, the rule really means "can't LEGALLY return" -- so if R1 had left first early (didn't "tag up") and reached second (and the timing of this might matter), and R2 reached third, and the ball became dead, the R1 can't correct his error of leaving early by returning to first. Or, if there's R1 and R3 and R1 steals (hoping to draw a throw) and F1 gets the ball, then R1 can't go back to first either to draw a throw or to set up the steal again.
  3. Unless softball (or Slopitch Canada specifically) has some weird rule, returning the ball to the pither does not make it dead. But, yes, runners can return to a base until some defined point in time (and I'll have to wait for someone who does that level to give you the specific rule that applies). (In the meantime, here's the OBR rule; Rule 5.06(a)/5.06 (c) Comment (Rule 7.01 Comment): If a runner legally acquires title to a base, and the pitcher assumes his pitching position, the runner may not return to a previously occupied base.) If you think about it, you've surely seen a runner reach the next base and then return.
  4. With R3 only and U3 going out (which is the play we are now discussing), U2 goes to second. He's there for BR on a double or any play at second. If there's a potential for a play at third, then we have the two options -- U2 takes BR to third and U1 comes behind to cover second, or PU goes to third and U1 goes home (the timing of BU's and PU's movement varies of course -- I don't mean to imply that either only moves when BR commits to third or anything).
  5. The two ways you describe are the same two ways I described.
  6. Because the conditions were not met -- (runners -- yes; batted ball -- no)
  7. No. U2 stays at second, U1 stays at first. There are a couple of different ways to handle it if BR tries for third -- U2 can take him (with U1 filling in behind in case BR tries to return to second), or PU can come up and then U1 rotates home. Depends on the specific mechanics being used.
  8. That is NOT what I said, nor was it the OP. (and it's an example of why I said that what I wrote is not the criteria)
  9. disagree. F4 COULD have caught the ball with ordinary effort. The fact that he ran toward second base instead of the ball is his problem, not ours. 99.9% of the time, in anything above, perhaps, 11U, if there's a fly ball that lands in the infield or the dirt, and the ball is high enough to say "Infield fly, batter's out" between the apex and the ball hitting the ground -- it's an infield fly (and, I do not mean to imply that what I wrote is the criteria.) edit: Or, what Matt said.
  10. Maybe F5 dove for the ball and caught it (or not) just before the ball and his chest hit the ground? I agree the OP didn't see what he thought he saw. And, I don't see anyone in this thread suggesting that the umpire used the player's actions to decide -- it's only a clue to those of us who didn't see it (and, thus, have only the OP and the actions on which to base our conclusions.)
  11. FED, for one. Some, allow hurdling, but not diving. (FED allows hurdling the outstretched arm, or hurdling a fielder on the ground, but not diving).)
  12. I wouldn't have thought that would be needed. I stand corrected.
  13. must remain within three feet of a straight line to the next base.
  14. I have always thought this was a "mistake" in the manual. With two umpires, BU has F5 moving in. With three umpires, PU has F5 moving in. Yet, it's the same configuration and sight lines for the two umpires involved. And, if F5 is really moving straight in, BU (U3) has the better angle. To answer your question -- I'd have someone make a call. Eye contact first can / should help, but it needs to be quick.
  15. RLI

    Whether it's marked or not, it still exists -- and if the case play in question doesn't mention the runner being out of the lane, I agree that it would be more clear if it did.