Register or Sign In to remove these ads

noumpere

Members
  • Content count

    7,902
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    82

noumpere last won the day on May 12

noumpere had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

2,250 Excellent

About noumpere

  1. If it's a rules issue, get together. If it's a judgment issue, leave it alone. It can be hard to tell which it is. SO, just step out from your normal position, make eye contact and let your partner decide.
  2. There's no such thing as a "GM" in the rules, so it doesn't matter for the game. What the team does on their own time is of no concern to me.
  3. Yes, this matters. It's impossible to step on to the rubber with the left foot (for a RH pitcher in the set position). To be clear, it doesn't matter to the "balk or not" question -- only to the conditions you set for the question.
  4. Given what you say the umpire saw (or didn't see), he made the right call. Given what you say actually happened, he made the wrong call. Is this subject to replay? Did they get it right?
  5. 1) Yes, focus on the larger picture. You will be able to see anything you need to see. Anything you can see only by focusing on a small body part should NOT be "Seen" at the levels most of us work. NCAA does list which balks are most commonly seen by which umpire. Knowing that can help you decide whether you "really" saw something or just "thought" you saw something -- but if you see it, call it. 2) There's no standard. Some list them both on one line (since that's the only spot either can bat in), some list them one after the other, smoe put the DH in the order and the fielder at the end, etc. Just clarify it at the plate meeting.
  6. OBR -- No penalty. Play around it. MLB does have limits on what can be in / near the on-deck circle. FED -- Umpire can decide, I think (I can't remember if that's just for a ball hitting loose equipment that prevents the ball from entering DBT, or if it applies here as well)
  7. 1) No, it doesn't. It means that when BU says, "yes, he did," PU then indicates , "Then it's a strike," and gives the mechanic. 2) No.
  8. That all depends on the level. The "magic word" contains not four letters, but three -- "you"
  9. I seem to recall that Wendelstadt (and maybe others) have this as legal -- precisely for the reason mentioned: The runner is going to advance on a steal anyway.
  10. When I've seen it, it's been a "league rule" -- so it's not the case of a ground rule superseding a book rule. And, I've seen it not only on short backstops, but also in younger levels (and those two things sometimes go together)
  11. LL (and most youth leagues) are based on OBR. OBR is written for MLB, and in MLB the players are expected to recognize the difference between their own coach's voice, and that of someone else. So, OBR does NOT contain any verbal obstruction type clause. I don't know if LL (or your league) includes such a clause in the changes that they make when adopting OBR. But, they should. And, at 8U, I'm enforcing such a clause, even if it doesn't exist. Put the runner back, admonish the other coach (nicely -- s/he's likely learning, too) and continue the game.
  12. MR

    The correct answer is going to depend on the rules code (because they have different ways of dealing with an undeclared, but valid infield fly), the timing of the events, and whether the criteria were met (which is in large part umpire judgment). Criteria NOT met: For all codes, this just becomes an inning ending double play. No runs score. See Stk004's answer above. Criteria MET: FED: It's up to the teams to know that the situation and criteria were met. So, the play becomes an infield fly -- BR is out. That removes the force on the other runners so merely touching a base does not result in an out. The first runner tagged (if any) becomes the third out. If R3 scored before this tag, the run count; if R3 "scored" after the tag, the run does not count. OBR (and, I think, NCAA): SInce the play itself resulted in a double play, it's reversed to and infield fly (BR out) and runners are placed where they would have been (umpire judgment) had the umpires correctly called it in the first place. Usually, that's back at the original bases -- so, now bases loaded with two outs.
  13. Yes, if it was the first play by an infielder.
  14. Yes -- if BR had also reached first at the time of the throw. Then, it's two bases from TOT -- so R1 is awarded home and BR is awarded third. That didn't happen in the "play in my mind" so I forgot about it.
  15. The general rule is the same at all levels -- 2 bases TOP, on the first play (not necessarily the first throw) by an infielder. I wasn't there, so I can't say if it was the first play or not. No general rules organization has a "umpire judgment" basis for determining bases on this type of play -- if it exists, it's a local rule.