Register or Sign In to remove these ads


  • Content count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

13 Neutral

About MT73

  1. I am one of the umpire instructors for a large complex in Bellrose Queens and we are looking for umpires. No fees involved so if interested contact me at
  2. It is in both the PBUC and MLBUM case books.
  3. I had the situation before I was certified and was lucky. I called him safe and then when the coach yelled "Tag him" I called him out on the tag. The coach complimented me on my rules knowledge but at that moment I decided to join a real association and get some training. Yes--call him safe and wait for an appeal, which can be either a tag or stomping the base. But the appeal has to be obvious. --just because F3 still has his foot on the bag after the play is not enough for an appeal. While not a force no runs would score if this was the 3rd out of the inning.
  4. So if tagged we should bang him out, score the run and only reverse this if they ask for an appeal? What if they just step on the bag? And is it not different if the missed base is the plate? Doesn"t the rule state the runner must be tagged unless he is heading towards the dugout?
  5. R1 was forced. He misses 2B and is tagged out scrambling back to the base. Is this a force or time play? Also-- would he have to be tagged or could the defense just step on the bag for the appeal?
  6. Ok TIME play. Would it be a force out?
  7. If the runner had missed second base and the base was tagged before he could scramble back would this still be a timing play?
  8. In softball if a player loses possession of the ball when making a tag it is a one base award. I am not sure if baseball agrees with this.
  9. Actually happened in my sons 12U game: Bases loaded no out. Batter hits pop up, umpires call infield fly. Fielder drops the ball and all runners take off. Multible attempts to make outs but team cant make any. Last runner scores because B/R--who is already out on IF -- gets in a rundown between first and second base. Question--is this interference by the BR?
  10. Does a pitch have to be caught by the catcher for interference to be called on the PU? For example, catcher drops the pitch and after picking up the ball ( which is right in front of him) to throw out a stealing runner his throwing hand contacts the PU and his throw does not retire the runner. Does this qualify as umpire interference?
  11. I watched that game live on TV I was screaming, "Obstruction! Obstruction"! Yes, as a Yankee fan I always root against the Sox. Good call by Joyce. Not nit picking, but the PU should have called time before awarding home on the obs.
  12. Thank you. Yes, that was my mini confusion. And yes, this was an OBR interpretation question.
  13. Bases loaded. Pitcher balks and hits batter with pitch. Question: Is the balk nullified because the batter and all runners advance? Or do we enforce the balk?
  14. Thanks guys. Since this is obstruction with a play (as in a run down) OBR also states to award the extra base.
  15. Thanks guys. My guy went that way but I just wanted to be sure.