Jump to content

timelydew

Members
  • Content count

    82
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

More information about you

  • Occupation
    Baseball Fan
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Little League
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

122 profile views
  1. When To Call The Ball Dead After a "Completed" Play

    Thanks boys. I realize the novice... ness of my question. I just started umpiring this year and never granted "Time" in any normal game-flow situation, but I had to ask because it was nagging at me.
  2. Andrew Stoakley‏ @stoakleyaudio Follow More Replying to @Wilnerness590 Joe West said 'that's an illegal pitch' after he paused before throwing. My mics picked him up saying it. 5:46 PM - 19 Sep 2017 So that's actually what was said. I just don't agree. Direct message
  3. When To Call The Ball Dead After a "Completed" Play

    Sorry, I'm just pretty inexperienced. Growing up, I thought that when an out was recorded and action "settled", if you will, that the ball would be dead. So it just remains live through and through?
  4. Question - is it completely arbitrary when to call the ball "dead" and put a halt to playing action? Say there's a runner on second, and the batter flies out. The ball is thrown back into the second baseman. Does the ball remain alive until it's with the pitcher? Is there a guideline?
  5. All I can say is that I was trying to be slightly inflammatory when I made the thread. Don't take it so seriously. So, it seems as though nobody knows exactly whether this is a ball or not - I think the safest call for a major league ump is "no pitch" and "don't do that again", with further transgressions punishable by ejection. In truth, I don't know what the MLB's view on this is, but going by the rules as they are set out, if Joe called it a ball because of the "shimmy", he is incorrect, at least to me. Maybe I'm wrong, and the league has issued a secret memo to its umpires, but until that time, I believe Joe just took the call into his own hands. And yeah, this had nothing to do with delivering the pitch within 12 seconds, or whatever. I realize that rules are ever-changing, but I doubt rules pertaining to this peculiar delivery have.
  6. Read the link here first: https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/15034-joe-wests-illegal-pitch-call-cards-pirates-game.html And fast forward to the present. Joe West, yet again being Joe West, called an illegal pitch on Marcus Stroman for his "delay" tactic from the wind-up. Same as happened in the link above. No one was on base, so he called the pitch a ball. As put forth in the rules, only two conditions give us an illegal pitch: (1) a pitch delivered to the batter when the pitcher does not have his pivot foot in contact with the pitcher's plate; (2) a quick return pitch. Read through that link up there first (it's where I draw my opinion from, specifically the posts by Dave Hensely), and tell me if you agree or disagree with Joe's interpretation. I do not. The guy's been umpiring longer than I've been alive, but ol' Cowboy Joe does things his own way.
  7. Umpire interference

    I understand you. You're thinking of base runner interference in regards to the "through or immediately by" part. That has nothing to do with UI. As long as the batted ball passes, as you say, the "plane" of wherever the infielders are standing, it's a live ball and no UI. Think of where the infielders are and draw an invisible line. If the ball crosses that invisible line and strikes an ump standing in fair territory behind it, it's a live ball. If the ball strikes an ump before passing that line, UI. Pretty easy call and it's really only the 2B ump who's susceptible to it.
  8. Yep. I asked him if it mattered which direction the bounce takes: Gil Imber‏ @Gilimber 23h23 hours ago More Replying to @atomikdestrukt @CloseCallSports No; top of the wall is treated as a hybrid in that a caught ball off the wall isn't an out, but is "in flight" for purposes of deciding HR.
  9. That reply above is from the dude who runs Close Call Sports. In my original tweet I specified that I was talking about the Ramirez/Mahtook play in the replies. That site is like a bible for rule obscurities. I don't trust everything I read but it's almost an unimpeachable source. I asked if it mattered what direction the ball took off the bounce (ie, back toward the field) in reply to that. I'm beginning to doubt that it matters, though.
  10. Matt Green‏ @atomikdestrukt Sep 13 @CloseCallSports If ball strikes TOP of OF wall and subsequently deflects out off of leaping outfielder, home run or two base award? Gil Imber‏ @Gilimber Follow Replying to @atomikdestrukt @CloseCallSports Home run if in fair territory, and two bases if the ball is deflected out of play outside the foul lines. Same as batted ball in flight.
  11. Home plate collision Q

    Good eye. As for your first response, I was picturing a conventional single to the outfield, but thanks for the other example. So I guess I was right then. Thanks
  12. I'm willing to see both sides of the argument. The one for awarding two bases (which I initially believed to be 100% correct) is a good one, but lacks any anecdotal evidence to support besides a few claims on message boards. The argument for supporting HR is based on logic and simplicity, and it's honestly the one I'm leaning toward. The lack of uproar around the call leads me to believe it should be deemed a HR. I've researched this issue more than anyone - I made the original thread about it here and at umpire.org. I still don't know however.
  13. Home plate collision Q

    If the catcher is deemed in violation of blocking the plate, and the runner who's coming home is called safe, what happens to the other runner(s) if this happens? In the first part of the rule, where the runner is guilty of initiating illegal contact, it says that the runners must return to the base last touched at the time of the collision. What about if the catcher's guilty and a runner is advancing to second on the throw home? I assume that, since it's an act of obstruction, the runner would be allowed to advance to second if the catcher is the guilty party?
  14. Where Should This Runner Be Placed? (Video)

    Very concise and correct. Thanks. It's a judgment whether he's secured or controlled the ball here. You could rule either way and justify it. I am leaning toward two bases, TOP.
×