Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads

timelydew

Members
  • Content count

    75
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

About timelydew

More information about you

  • Occupation
    Baseball Fan
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Little League
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

67 profile views
  1. Umpire interference

    I understand you. You're thinking of base runner interference in regards to the "through or immediately by" part. That has nothing to do with UI. As long as the batted ball passes, as you say, the "plane" of wherever the infielders are standing, it's a live ball and no UI. Think of where the infielders are and draw an invisible line. If the ball crosses that invisible line and strikes an ump standing in fair territory behind it, it's a live ball. If the ball strikes an ump before passing that line, UI. Pretty easy call and it's really only the 2B ump who's susceptible to it.
  2. Yep. I asked him if it mattered which direction the bounce takes: Gil Imber‏ @Gilimber 23h23 hours ago More Replying to @atomikdestrukt @CloseCallSports No; top of the wall is treated as a hybrid in that a caught ball off the wall isn't an out, but is "in flight" for purposes of deciding HR.
  3. That reply above is from the dude who runs Close Call Sports. In my original tweet I specified that I was talking about the Ramirez/Mahtook play in the replies. That site is like a bible for rule obscurities. I don't trust everything I read but it's almost an unimpeachable source. I asked if it mattered what direction the ball took off the bounce (ie, back toward the field) in reply to that. I'm beginning to doubt that it matters, though.
  4. Matt Green‏ @atomikdestrukt Sep 13 @CloseCallSports If ball strikes TOP of OF wall and subsequently deflects out off of leaping outfielder, home run or two base award? Gil Imber‏ @Gilimber Follow Replying to @atomikdestrukt @CloseCallSports Home run if in fair territory, and two bases if the ball is deflected out of play outside the foul lines. Same as batted ball in flight.
  5. Home plate collision Q

    Good eye. As for your first response, I was picturing a conventional single to the outfield, but thanks for the other example. So I guess I was right then. Thanks
  6. I'm willing to see both sides of the argument. The one for awarding two bases (which I initially believed to be 100% correct) is a good one, but lacks any anecdotal evidence to support besides a few claims on message boards. The argument for supporting HR is based on logic and simplicity, and it's honestly the one I'm leaning toward. The lack of uproar around the call leads me to believe it should be deemed a HR. I've researched this issue more than anyone - I made the original thread about it here and at umpire.org. I still don't know however.
  7. Home plate collision Q

    If the catcher is deemed in violation of blocking the plate, and the runner who's coming home is called safe, what happens to the other runner(s) if this happens? In the first part of the rule, where the runner is guilty of initiating illegal contact, it says that the runners must return to the base last touched at the time of the collision. What about if the catcher's guilty and a runner is advancing to second on the throw home? I assume that, since it's an act of obstruction, the runner would be allowed to advance to second if the catcher is the guilty party?
  8. Where Should This Runner Be Placed? (Video)

    Very concise and correct. Thanks. It's a judgment whether he's secured or controlled the ball here. You could rule either way and justify it. I am leaning toward two bases, TOP.
  9. Where Should This Runner Be Placed? (Video)

    Well said. I have no cause to disagree with you. So the hitting the top of the wall is then considered "in flight" when the ball hits it? I believe this is what Carl Childress determined back in 2001 in a post I referenced in that thread.
  10. Where Should This Runner Be Placed? (Video)

    I should've looked closer, sorry. Glad to see you agree though. I'm just left now wondering about the whole ball striking the top of the wall and being deflected out by a fielder question. On both boards I posted it to, no real definitive answer. Although I see you think it should count as a HR. Amazing that there's no text anywhere that supports or debunks it.
  11. Ball Hitting Top of Wall, Deflected Out by Fielder

    I have to say I'm inclined to agree. MLB will admit to mistakes on HRs and their silence is deafening here.
  12. Ball Hitting Top of Wall, Deflected Out by Fielder

    so... are we no closer to knowing if this is a HR?
  13. http://www.closecallsports.com/2017/09/case-play-2017-9-deflected-error-triple.html I believe there is a case to be made for the runner being awarded home on this play. I mean, for chrissakes, he was around or near third when it happened? How do the umps place him at third here? Either the award should be second or home. They muffed this one. If you scroll down to the comments, I agree with these: cyclone14 • a day ago I think this would be considered the a fair ball 'thrown' into the stands by an outfielder under 5.06b(G), and so the award should be 2 from the time of the throw. Since Hernandez had rounded second already, he should have been given home. Nate Browell cyclone14 • a day ago Personally believe the spirit of the rule would be to award him home, assuming he Hernandez had achieved 2B. Technically this is deflected out, but in my judgment Trumbo's inability to control the ball a second time after intentionally corralling it seems to be similar to a fielder inadvertently kicking a motionless ball into the dugout. 2B or Home is the award. 3B only makes sense if (in error) they believed Hernandez had not yet achieved 2B when the ball entered the stands.
  14. Ball Hitting Top of Wall, Deflected Out by Fielder

    I honestly don't know anymore. I guess I've almost conceded that the lack of uproar about the call might just equate to it being correct. All I can say is that his interp is the simplest way to rule upon it. It can be difficult to ascertain directions of caroms. I dunno
  15. Ball Hitting Top of Wall, Deflected Out by Fielder

    I maintain that it's just a live ball and the play carries on as normal. That... just makes the most sense to me. Base awards in these cases are predicated on the ball actually leaving the field of play - a ball returning to the field of play in this particular manner to me denotes a live ball. As for the original question, I am almost willing to give Carl Childress and his interp the benefit of the doubt. https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/2055-ball-hits-wall-player-goes-over.html (Of course you've seen this, just for others who have not; that being said, read it again carefully as I have and perhaps you'll come to my conclusion) It does make sense - any ball hitting the top of the wall, and being deflected out of play by a fielder is a HR. Simple as that. If it hits the face of the wall, and is deflected out, GRD. In reading through his answers again I don't think the direction of the initial carom matters at all. He simply says when it's deflected forward by the outstretched outfielder. This also lines up with @noumpere's answer, which does cover this albeit without mentioning what part of the wall was hit. To me, if you take this play and apply Carl's reasoning to it, you could indeed have a HR. It certainly would complicate things less and be infinitely more understandable and easy to rule upon.
×