Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads


  • Content count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by White47

  1. Can you call him out?

    So if a runner does not avoid contact, but that contact is not malicious can I call home out? I know if it is like an illegal slide I can, but does the same apply standing up. The situation I'm thinking of happened at first base, I definitely felt that he made intentional contact but it didn't appear to be malicious. Would it just just be interference or is there a different rule that would cover it, or just a no call ? (All rule sets please). Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  2. Obstruction with cutoff man

    Would y'all have obstruction on this. Modified OBR rules Runner on 2nd ball hit to right field. Right fielder comes up firing to home. The first baseman is standing around first for the cut, and BR trips over him and then Scurries back to 1st. The first baseman ends up cutting the ball off around the same time as the BR trips over him and fires home. Would it be Obs or could you have interference. If obs what type. Not sure if the in the act of fielding the ball rule would apply here. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  3. Obstruction with cutoff man

    Yea, no where near where he should have been. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  4. Bullpen interferes

    This happen a couple of weeks ago, I called my college assigner, my HS assigner, an SEC umpire, an ACC umpire and my MiLB contact, and got a consensus from them, (if you can't tell, I didn't think they where right so I kept calling others people),but though I'd pose it on here. No one on and the outs are irrelevant. Ball hit down LF line fair, and kid in DT bullpen picks up live ball, then immediately drops it again. At the time the ball was picked up BR was in between 1st and 2nd. All of them said that this technical fall under spectator interference, and that ball is immediately dead and runners are place at umpires judgment. We placed him and second. I feel like we got it right, but for the wrong reasons, we were thinking of it more like GRD. What do y'all think? Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  5. New ATL stadium

    Not an umpiring question at all, but I figure you can help a fellow umpire out. Is the area around the Suntrust Park safe to walk with your family. Like if our hotel is around a mile away should we be fine to walk? I know at the old stadium that would not necessarily be the case. Also does anyone have any advice going to a game at the new stadium? Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  6. New ATL stadium

    I wish we could uber, but I've got a little boy that's still in a car seat. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  7. Outs don't matter, rule set doesn't matter Runner on second stealing in play, is hit with a batted ball after it has passed diving third baseman, no one else had a shot to field it. BU calls interference incorrectly (he admits it). My question is as PU should I confer with him and get it right, or wait until a coach questions it and asks us to get together, which never happened. I had him safe the whole time, bc it passed the fielder an no one else had a play. Turns out it didn't really matter bc it was 28-2. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  8. Best answer so far thank you. That's what i kinda thought just wanted some other opions.
  9. Batters box

    If you want to call an expanded zone, go for it, but why on earth do you need to remove the lines, just call a big zone. I have never in my life seen an umpire remove the batting box lines. That is crazy. As the OP, If they don't have the boxes, play the game, its not really that big of an issue, I can count one hand the times that I've had to call out of the box. honestly, in my younger days when I did lower level stuff i've been on fields without foul lines. I just played the game and did the best I could, then went to the house.
  10. I agree, that would be a much better way of handling it. especially if he calls time and walk down to you. Your not making him look as bad that way and taking away partners credibility.
  11. My question all along was is this a rule issue or a judgment issue. It seems pretty split on here. I think if its a grey area like this you are better off to wait, and get it right when asked. you cant know for sure why your partner ruled it that way. Maybe he saw something you didn't. Now, if the call was flipped and he didn't call it when he should have that is an easy one to grab, because all you have to do is kill the ball and call runner out. But in OP, we would then have had to place runners and thing becuase BU killed the play.
  12. D3K ... bat rolls into ball

    although I don't think this qualifies as interference under any rule set FED says Shall not deliberately interfere with a catcher fielding a drop third strike (8-4-1a), If for some reason you do declare it as such it is immediately dead, batter out, runners return TOI. Now with all that said, I like the OBR Rule much better, which is if he CLEARLY HINDERS catcher (6.01a-1), and will follow it to a point. Like if the BR accidental kick the ball 20 ft down the baseline, I am not allowing him to get to first
  13. Ok so have a pitcher that is drastically changing his wind up methods. Some times he will start his delivery and almost stop others times he speeds threw it so fast I can barely get set. Everything he was doing was legal by itself just didn't seem right to me when everything was put together. I didn't call anything or even say anything to him, and no one complained just didn't sit well. Illegal pitch maybe? Or just nothing. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  14. Agreed. 3 is usually my max. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  15. The OC didn't say anything, he just sent his kid on and told him to be more aware. If he had even acted like he was going to go out on BU I would have probably held him off and went out and got it right, but with him not even saying anything, I figured just leave well enough alone and get the out. Like I said it was a crazy blow out. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  16. Yea, we talked about it during a pitcher switch. It was the sixth game of the day, 6 crappy games at that. He apologized and said he just got lazy. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  17. That was my thing, I didn't really know if it the scenario would fall under a rule Application or judgment. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  18. Past ball

    Yea, I could see it in a rec ball or something.
  19. Past ball

    I not arguing with you BC I don't want to get Mavened, but would that not be a case of a ground rule superseding a book rule? Should a ground rule like that be allowed?
  20. Team warnings

    So a few weeks ago I was at a school that in notorious for unsportsmanlike behavior Towards the visiting team(its nothing overly bad, there just cocky pricks). About half way threw I issued my team warning, I actual issued it to both teams but that not really important. Later in the game I had a pitcher hit a batter, now it was 100% unintentional IMO, but that leads me to my question. Had I felt that it was on purpose, and EJ the kid would the coach go too, or for that to apply would I have need to issue a throwing at batters warning also or would the unsportsmanlike warning suffice? I can't find this in rule book anywhere. In practice I think I would lean towards just dumping kid and leaving the coach. Especially with the team I'm speaking of. What do y'all think? Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  21. If they used cell phone video then this is 100% on them, but I don't feel that Umpires that would be selected to work that level of a game would make such a boneheaded move. Plus the video quality suck, and i don't see how they could determine one way or the other on the touch. Personally, I think if they wheres a rule question, they should have looked it up in a rule book instead of calling, but not sure that should be a reason to overturn the call, especially since they got it right. I also don't understand how this is a 20 min conference, but anyway...Lesson for all in this i guess is, know your rule book.
  22. No outs Walk off walk

    Got to get them in order. If he goes to 1st first the run scores, because it then becomes a time play on the other two runners. I guess if some how they could appeal the other two base before R2 reaches home then the run doesn't score. The proper order would be to appeal 3rd, 2nd, then 1st. no run would score because R1 and R2 were forced and batter never reached 1st.
  23. HS Sitch

    I wasn't there nor do I know the coach and his personality, but I feel this second would not have happened had there been a diffrent response in the beginning.
  24. Crossed Up

    We all do it from time to time, I'm Willing to wager even the MLB guys do. Just try to focus on tracking the ball. as long as you don't do it a bunch, don't let it eat at you. learn and move on.