Register or Sign In to remove these ads

White47

Members
  • Content count

    191
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by White47

  1. Got to get them in order. If he goes to 1st first the run scores, because it then becomes a time play on the other two runners. I guess if some how they could appeal the other two base before R2 reaches home then the run doesn't score. The proper order would be to appeal 3rd, 2nd, then 1st. no run would score because R1 and R2 were forced and batter never reached 1st.
  2. I wasn't there nor do I know the coach and his personality, but I feel this second would not have happened had there been a diffrent response in the beginning.
  3. We all do it from time to time, I'm Willing to wager even the MLB guys do. Just try to focus on tracking the ball. as long as you don't do it a bunch, don't let it eat at you. learn and move on.
  4. Did I say you blew a call or even came close. Or that you said anything wrong. You asked for advice on handling this situation, this is how I, and what appears by the response, many other Umpires would handle it on here.. I try to keep it simple, which IMO keeps conflict down. When I'm talking to a coach I pretend that I'm talking to my wife ( who is not baseball savvy, neither are some coaches). If I said he made it she would assume he was safe and probably quite listening. That human nature, we hear what we want then we turn or ears off. There are multiple ways that the above can be interrupted. Notice I didn't say there was multiple meanings (however I would agree there is). IMO the more detail the worst off you are. Out, safe, strike, ball. Those four explanations will cover 90% of conversations with coaches. You might have to add a, "he was", or "it was" in front. Don't ask for help if you can't take constructive criticism. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  5. I think your agreeing with me??? If a coached ask me, "did he not make it?" I would respond with, "he was out." nothing more nothing less. Now if the coach want to walk down and have a more in depth discussion (a short one) I might go into a little more detail, but very little. details tend to get you ito trouble when talking to coaches.
  6. I not sure that this was the best choice of words. You got to remember who your talking to and how they will interpret it. to a coach "you made it" means safe. We understand what your saying as an umpires, but a coach in the heat of a game doesn't think like an umpire. I would have probably just said, "I had him out coach." A persons perception/interpretation is their reality. Now, to the coming back out to re-discuss the call. I'd probably say, "Coach its over," and if that didn't move him on his way I'd issue some type of warning.
  7. I've been in a few conferences where my first question to my partners is, "What the beep just happened??"
  8. 95% of the time your partner knows what your coming to ask, especially if he is a seasoned umpire. for those time something super simple like what Volump said is the best, easiest and quickest way to get it settled. Sometimes this can almost be done with non verbally, but you wouldn't want to do that since the coach has asked you to talk about it. the other 5% of the time you go for help I feel like its a little more then just a quick yes or no. If its an odd situation there should probably be some conversation between you and your partner, Which can't really be layed out in a script because it will depend of the situation.
  9. Ditto on What everyone said. I'll add to error on the side of going out. It suck when you come in to pivot and then you see F9 laying out to make a catch.
  10. So I've got pulled into helping at the rec league fields that I umpired at when I was in HS to volunteer for a benefit tournament for a young boy with cancer. The tournaments going to run off USSSA rules. It's been 10+ years since I've even worked something under grouse rules. Minus pitching rules are there any modifications I need to know. It's is just OBR modified right? Figure I'd ask you guys; not sure I'll have time to look them up before the games start tomorrow. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  11. Like I said I very well could be wrong, and I understand and know what the rule says and understand how I could be wrong based on that . But I've seen officials that I really respect not call that (runner studded stepping in front of ball). Like most of us I try and learn from those around me especially those that I respect and are seasoned. Part of the reason I like being on here is I get to learn form more officials. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  12. Like I said very well could be wrong, but I call HS and college and have never see it called. It very well could be in rule book , just something I have never investigated. I hope this is true bc I called INT this year in a HS game, I really thought the ball yet him and came up with int, later after asking partner in defiantly didn't. It just took a weird bounce off the edge of grass and dirt. That would make me feel better about that call. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  13. Without a case play or interp I'll have to respectful disagree manly on the fact that I haven't ever seen it called that way at any level even MLB. But if it hit him or he does anything to interfer beside visual impairment I've got him out. I could be wrong, just needed to be proven before I change my mind. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  14. Whats your reasoning. Not saying your wrong, I've just not seen it called that way. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  15. Doesn't matter if it's the same or not. It is explicitly laid out in the rules that its OBS. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  16. Defiantly. Watch an MLB game, you'll see it if its hit in between first and second with a runner on first or in an runner on second with two out hit in between second and third. Just make sure no contact with fielder or ball, and make sure the only hindrance is sight. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  17. His fingernail touch the bag a 1/5 of an inch to the left of the front left of the bag 1/8 of a second before the lace of the pinky fingers of the glove touched his ear lob on the right side about a 1/4 of the way up the ear after his helmet fell off rounding second of course. How could you miss that!!!! Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  18. I didn't notice it the there modifications, however, I didn't go threw and read it word for word. I just kinda skimmed it looking for anything that stood out. I think that slash bunt is something individual fields can make a rule against if they felt it was unsafe.
  19. Thanks. this answer my Base hit question I posed earlier.
  20. I don't think you should. I thought that was what Rich Ives was saying. I thought maybe I missed something. I was just wondering what he would do in OP.
  21. I have read threw there modification, and cant really find anything that is vastly diffrent that I'm going to worry my self with for just one weekend of baseball.
  22. So what should we do in OP situation. Tell runner at third that he scored and to go back to dugout?? Seems like that might open up a can of worms especially if they appealed and you called the runner out because I think it makes it more obvious that there was a base running infraction. Not saying its wrong, just not something I would want to have to do.
  23. Same thing if it is from a hit?
  24. I agree with you that it probably isn't going to work, due to the fact I have never seen it attempted. but let me point out that he doesn't have to step "directly" (as defined by Websters) to first he just has to be inside the 45 degree angle extending from not pivot foot (baseball definition of directly). (NCAA 9-1A-6)