Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads

UmpCoach

Members
  • Content count

    3
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    NorCal Sports Officials
  • Occupation
    Management
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Pony, Men's Amateur Baseball
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)
  1. Balk

    I am 99% sure these 2 scenarios are balks, but want a confirmation on this. Scenario #1: Runner on 1st Base. Right handed pitcher in the Windup position. Pitcher raises hands but steps off the rubber with his RIGHT FOOT (which would be the legal foot to step off in any other situation).....then hoping to have the runner take off to 2nd Base. This is a BALK correct? Just by the pitcher raising his hands means he has starting to deliver the pitch Home. Also the pitcher cannot simulate a windup as well even though he steps off with the legal foot.....correct? Scenario #2: Runner on base and the Pitcher is straddling the Rubber and as he is straddling the rubber he gets in the "set" position to make it look like he is actually set.....this is a BALK as well. Correct?
  2. Re-tagging base after Foul Ball

    I have been umpiring a long time over 20 years and never have enforced baserunners to re-tag the bases they are occupying after a foul ball. What is the actual rule on that if a runner doesn't re-tag the base after a foul ball? To me it's such a ticky-tack conversation if a Coach brings it up because you can't appeal it after a picther has thrown a pitch and I was always told to tell the runner to re-tag the base.....what is the penalty if they do not do this? Unsportsmanlike? I have never told any runner to do that or had any coach tell me a runner didn't re-tag base....im just curious.
  3. Re-tagging base after Foul Ball

    I have been umpiring a long time over 20 years and never have enforced baserunners to re-tag the bases they are occupying after a foul ball. What is the actual rule on that if a runner doesn't re-tag the base after a foul ball? To me it's such a ticky-tack conversation if a Coach brings it up because you can't appeal it after a picther has thrown a pitch and I was always told to tell the runner to re-tag the base.....what is the penalty if they do not do this? Unsportsmanlike? I have never told any runner to do that or had any coach tell me a runner didn't re-tag base....im just curious.
×