Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads

CJK

Members
  • Content count

    126
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

CJK last won the day on September 12

CJK had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

86 Neutral

About CJK

  • Birthday 04/22/1967

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Omaha, NE

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    n/a
  • Occupation
    IT Geek
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    "Adult" Slow Pitch; Girls' Fastpitch
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

2,038 profile views
  1. wrong name on lineup card

    I'm not going to pretend to be an expert, but I looked at the best ISF resource I could find and found this on page 24. It may be the sh!tty end of the stick, but once the lineups are official, I think the rules support an umpire who views the "correctly-spelled" player as an unreported substitute. If you (the offending team) realized it and informed the umpire first, there would be no penalty. If the other team appeals before you notice, the "correctly-spelled" player would be declared ineligible, and if you had no legal substitute, the game would be forfeited. Having said that, if I had been the offending team, I think I'd have considered making the claim that my lineup was correct and the player's name was spelled incorrectly on the jersey.
  2. "Son, if the catcher can reach it, so can you."
  3. Assigning Expectations

    Of course you were. And I was thinking that this was in the thread I started. My mistake, and my apologies.
  4. Assigning Expectations

    This is brilliant. Someone should make a TV show about it.
  5. Assigning Expectations

    While I get what you're saying, @zoops, I feel like you're describing something different. It was a day of tournament games (actually girls' fast pitch) with 75-minute drop dead clocks, and we were actually a bit ahead of schedule. We finished 4 of the 5 game slots when the rain came, and we were probably in the room for a half hour when they decided to move the games. I've worked with this same TD a number of times, and the only instance where we had a significant delay, we were scheduled for 3 games, we finished one, and he asked us to stay through the rain and recovery to do the 3rd. We got paid for the two games we actually worked and he added a 1/2 game fee for the trouble. I feel like he's a stand-up guy. I was just curious if anyone had any kind of experience with traveling half-way through a game like this, because this umpire was so adamant that "you just don't do that." I'm of the mindset that if you want the work, you go where the games are. Inconvenient sometimes, but that's just the backside of getting paid a full game fee for working a 45-minute run rule. Thanks to everyone for the feedback!
  6. Assigning Expectations

    I generally will specify my availability as "all day" or "until 3pm." If I had given "until 3pm" availability, I (like @noumpere) would be apologetic, but I would not feel the slightest bit guilty about leaving. If I had given "all day" availability, I would stay. In either case, I would be in contact with my assigner/UIC immediately, either to indicate that s/he needed to find someone to pick up the late game, or else so that s/he understands that I'm picking up the slack. I don't need the pat on the back so much as I want to be the guy that s/he will call first the next time s/he needs someone.
  7. Relocating due to rain

    Background: I scheduled umpires for a tournament this weekend where a torrential cloudburst swept through the complex just 10 minutes into the final game slot. The rain was gone after about 10 minutes, but the fields obviously hadn't kept up with the sheer volume of water, and it was showing. The organization had playable fields available in town (about 15 minutes away), so the TD moved the remaining games to alternate locations. One of the umpires in the room was upset at the idea that he was expected to drive to a different facility and indicated that he expected gas money. I responded with something like, "Well, I didn't give you gas money to show up here, either. If you want to work the game, you go where it is." He said, "You just don't ask an umpire to change fields with compensation for the travel. You just don't do that." Actual questions: 1. Is he right? Is there a widespread agreement that umpires should be compensated for in-town travel like this? I didn't even consider it. In my area, I get availability from umpires that live up to 50 miles away, and I give availability to schedulers that will use me even 100 miles away, and nobody even considers travel money. I couldn't even fathom the idea that anyone would expect travel money to relocate to a site about 10 miles away. 2. The timing of his complaint bothered me even more. It seems to me that a discussion like this one should be the furthest from anyone's mind when the TD is trying to make alternate field arrangements, explain his decision to coaches, and get everybody relocated. On the other hand, I understand that the umpire has lost all negotiating leverage as soon as he's worked the game, so I suppose that if he felt like he needed to have the conversation at all, he would also feel like it had to be right then. 3. I've been in a rain delay before, but never a relocation like this. If that has happened to you, what was your experience? Could it have been made better? If so, how?
  8. LL Championship Plate

    I'll be darned. I looked before I posted, too, because I don't do Little League. After I read your comment, it still took me another 10 minutes before I finally found a source that showed me the 4 inch offset. Thanks for the education, @JonnyCat. My apologies, @basejester, for my mistake.
  9. LL Championship Plate

    The gap between the plate and the batter's box is specified as 6 inches in every code that I know of. A baseball is just under 3 inches in diameter. A softball is under 4 inches in diamter. Some part of the ball must travel over some part of the plate for the pitch to be a "rulebook" strike (in any code with a defined strike zone instead of a mat). A pitch that travels past the plate one inch into the batter's box is not a "rulebook" strike anywhere, ever. In fact, a pitch that travels past the plate over any part of the chalk is not a "rulebook" strike anywhere, ever. A baseball must be a full 3 inches away from the chalk (and a softball over 2 inches away) to actually catch the plate. I'm suggesting that it's wrong to call the "river." It's generally accepted and often even expected. But it's not "rulebook." Edit: See below for @JonnyCat's correction that smaller LL fields do specify a 4 inch gap. Sorry, @basejester.
  10. R3 is out, B/R is awarded first, R1 is awarded second, and R2 is awarded third.
  11. Backswing interference?

    I have nothing of value to add here. I just hate that anybody ever calls the follow-through a "backswing."
  12. Question On Circle Violation

    I'll assume you're asking about the look-back rule, and whether the runner should be ruled out in each of these situations. I'm also assuming that the runner has left the base during play (e.g. leading off on the pitch), and the ball is being returned to the circle at the end of the play. I'll go with: 1. No violation (ball is not controlled by pitcher in circle). 2. No violation (ball is not controlled by pitcher in circle). 3. The runner is entitled to read the situation and then must commit to either returning or advancing.* 4. The runner is entitled to read the situation and then must commit to either returning or advancing.* * - If I've made an incorrect assumption and the runner is actually on the base and leaves it while the ball is controlled by the pitcher in the circle, then the runner has violated the look-back rule, the ball is dead, and the runner is out.
  13. What's the Count?

    What other aspects of judgement and game management shall I put to a vote in order to demonstrate that I'm not driven by a "fragile ego"? Shall I ask the defense and offense to vote on each play and only offer my judgement when they disagree? Many, maybe even most, people still believe (as evidenced by the almost weekly rules forum posts) that getting the third out of an inning on a tag-up appeal is a force out, and thus would negate any runs that scored on the play. Shall I let them agree that the run doesn't score, even though I know it should, to demonstrate that my ego isn't "fragile"? I'm not saying that the umpire didn't handle this situation poorly, because I think he probably did. I just think the trigger words (fragile, gasp, refuse, reasonable) are unnecessary. (I also think, based on #5, that the official scorekeeper should consult a doctor immediately.)
  14. What a call!

    You're entitled to that opinion, of course. I'd think people would be glad that he was already signalling to get his team looking at the play, just to reduce the amount of time that people are standing around on the field waiting for someone to decide if it's worth standing around with headphones on waiting for someone in New York to decide. I mean, if we're going to pretend that the 45 seconds saved on an intentional walk once a week is worthwhile, then I think we also have to pretend that it's worth saving 5 seconds by signaling the dugout that there might be something worth looking at before the umpire has rendered a decision.
  15. Burn out

    Or go check out tiny-kid coach-pitch, where umpires don't need gear, there are 20 *adorable* little spuds in their saggy-baggy uniforms running all over the place, and the coaches don't have time to fuss because they're all busy herding cats. Hardly anybody even knows the score, the parents are otherwise occupied getting the post-game snacks ready, and everybody from all 3 teams (home, visitor, and umpire) are working together to provide the players with a positive experience. Watch it or umpire it; either way, it's an absolute blast and a great reminder not necessarily of *how* the game should be played, but *why*.
×