Register or Sign In to remove these ads

CJK

Members
  • Content count

    87
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

58 Neutral

About CJK

  • Birthday 04/22/1967

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Omaha, NE

More information about you

  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    "Adult" Slow Pitch; Girls' Fastpitch
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)
  1. There's a difference between "crashes" (generally meaning "both playing within the rules and unfortunately trying to occupy the same space at the same time") and "intentionally crashes" (often called "trucking" or "going through" a player). But you knew that already.
  2. ASA (2016) has the same provision: Again, probably not applicable given your description of the timing (step across to other box while pitcher is ready -- out; step while pitch is in the air -- nothing without contact). But it might matter someday.
  3. I don't know what rule set you were using, but USSSA has rule 2E (p 38) that says From your description of the timing, I don't think it applied in your situation, but it's worth knowing that 2E does not require contact, a swing, or even a pitch. It only requires a pitcher ready to pitch and a batter who steps across the plate from one box to the other. The more you know...
  4. Maybe, but for me it was learned through experience. When I first started umpiring, I fell for the old "nothing can happen without the ball" adage that traps many of us. As I grew more comfortable on the field (and also as I got caught missing things), I learned the rhythm of when to quickly shift my eyes to see a touch and when to peek ahead at the "lower priority" runner to make sure he's not cutting a corner by ten feet. I learned how to recognize a fielder that was about to camp the inside corner of a bag to obstruct a runner. Mostly, I made mistakes, I hung around at the park after my games to watch other guys work and ask questoins, and I read stuff on this site about other people's mistakes, and I learned what I could from all kinds of goofs
  5. I'm not sure how you can undo that. What if the guy had been caught stealing? What if the next batter had homered on the first pitch? I think you just play on.
  6. If everybody involved would tell the truth and do the right thing, they wouldn't need an umpire in the first place. But they won't, so here we are.
  7. I ran across this link while I was thinking about and looking for information about your point. It appears to be at least 15 years old (since Ralph Nelson resigned from his position in 2003), I don't really know where to find "MLB Regulations," and I'm not sure they'd help anyone using OBR outside MLB or using any other rule set, but I thought it was interesting.
  8. I think you could guess these answers, but I'll try to be more clear. No catch if the ball touches detached equipment which is on the ground. Catch if the ball causes originally-properly-worn equipment to become detached and a fielder secures the ball before it touches the ground (or detached equipment which is on the ground). And again, I do not have rule citations. This is just my attempt to describe the way I interpret the spirit of catch/no catch. I don't think anyone really thinks that the ball falling into an open glove on the ground should be a catch. At the same time, I don't think anyone really thinks that a fielder who has his glove pulled off by a ball but then catches the glove with the ball still in it hasn't made a catch. Everything else is really just people trying to explain the difference to each other.
  9. I just didn't know if other codes had similar provisions, but I definitely knew that USSSA Fastpitch did. It's in the part that charts dimensions of the field. And while I've seen little girls struggle like crazy from 2 feet farther away than they're supposed to be, I've also seen big girls that absolutely could not throw a strike from 3 feet too close. I was really surprised. (And impressed at how much faster their bad pitches looked.)
  10. Your "rule of thumb" is in direct conflict with the USSSA Fastpitch rules (p 7 of the 2017 book):
  11. I think if the ball first contacted equipment (glove, hat, sunglasses, etc.) while the equipment was being properly worn, and then the equipment became dislodged, and the ball was caught before touching anything other than the originally-properly-worn equipment, I'd have a catch. If the equipment were to become dislodged before the ball contacted it, then I think the ball would no longer be in flight and could not be caught for an out. I don't have a rule citation to back this up at all, but I think I could sell it.
  12. Short answer: USA Softball (formerly ASA) -- yes; USSSA -- no. Longer answer: The USA/ASA rules treat the orange/white base as One Big Base after the initial run-through at first on an infield ground ball. Any player may use any part of the One Big Base at any time after that initial play. The USSSA rules consider the orange part of the base to vanish after the initial run-through at first on an infield ground ball. All players must use the white part base for any play after the initial one.
  13. Fielder's Choice.
  14. Well, the lead runner was out when he left the field and entered DBT, so he's definitely not scoring. An aggressive and repeated signal is appropriate, and may have prevented the catcher from taking the ball off the field to tag him, which could have saved you the rest of the circus.
  15. I can't abide the analogy (despite both the creativity and the parallelism of the "appeal" terminology), because the change in the status of a convicted felon doesn't have the same "unwinding" effect on other people involved in the situation as in a B/R who fails to touch 1b on his way by. But it's OK. We all know, understand, and can communicate the correct interpretation, and that's what's important.